When we understand and talk about personal finances, it can be easy to get lost or discouraged. Luckily, there are many free and general courses available online that offer foundational tools, guidance, definitions and strategies for achieving your financial goals. This is certainly not an exhaustive list, but definitely some that can get you started on your journey.

• 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy

  The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ 360 Degrees of Financial Literacy helps people understand their personal finances through every stage of life.

• Ask the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

  Clear, impartial answers to hundreds of financial questions from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (cfpb). Topics cover auto loans, bank accounts, credit cards, credit reports and scores, debt collection, mortgages, and more.

• Consumer.gov

  Developed by the Federal Trade Commission, and provides videos, worksheets, and presentations on managing money; credit, loans & debt; and scams & Identity theft.

• FTC Consumer Information

  The FTC works to prevent fraudulent, deceptive and unfair business practices in the marketplace and to provide information to help consumers spot, stop and avoid them. This includes how to avoid and reports scams, critically evaluate online reviews, and other information relating to consumer spending, debt, and online security.

• MyMoney.gov

  This U.S. government website is dedicated to teaching Americans the basics about financial education. Includes online calculators, budget worksheets, planning checklists and other helpful resources from the federal government for making financial decisions.

• SaveAndInvest.org

  SaveAndInvest.org, a project of the FINRA Investor Education Foundation, is a free, unbiased resource dedicated to your financial health. Through easy-to-use tools and resources, SaveAndInvest.org helps you make informed financial decisions—and arms you with the information you need to protect yourself from investment fraud.

• Office of Financial Readiness

  The Department of Defense Office of Financial Readiness provides resources, education and support for every stage of financial readiness — whether you’re just getting started learning about finances, interested in tweaking your current plan or ready to jump in with both feet.

• Bankrate

  Bankrate.com is an independent, advertising-supported publisher and comparison service. Information covers mortgages, banking, credit cards, loans, investing, home equity, insurance, and retirement.

• Investopedia

  Provides clear explanations of complex financial information, as well as simulators, reviews, and educational materials.

• eXtension.org

  Research-based information on personal finance from America's land-grant universities.

• Investor.gov

  The Securities & Exchange Commission’s online resource to help you invest wisely and avoid fraud.

• Military OneSource

  Personal finance guides for military service members.

Financial literacy competencies are more easily attainable if you understand the terminology. Check these glossaries to look up words and their definitions.

• Glossary of Economics and Personal Finance Terms

  Terms, definitions, and personal finance flashcards provided by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

• Glossary of English-Spanish Financial Terms

  English financial terms with Spanish translations provided by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).

• Investopedia Dictionary

  Comprehensive list of terms and definitions. Investopedia provides simplified explanations of complex financial information to help readers manage every aspect of their financial life.

• Financial Planning and Investing Glossary

  Glossary of terms compiled by Barbara O'Neill, Ph.D., CFP, Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station (NJAES) Cooperative Extension