Core Resources Page Description
The resources on this page provide information on all areas and specializations within librarianship and provide a jumping off point for research in LIS; this is not meant to be a comprehensive list of relevant resources.
Key Databases
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and book reviews in more than 400 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, going as far back as 1984. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
- Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) This link opens in a new windowLISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
- Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with coverage extending back to 1966. Formerly called Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA).
- Emerald Library This link opens in a new windowEmerald Library includes management and library information science journals as well as a specialist range of engineering and applied science and technology journals.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Open Access Resources
Because access to different publications and databases can change as you move from institution to institution throughout graduate school and your professional career, open access resources will remain an important source for learning and professional development
- Evidence Based Library and Information PracticeAn open access, peer reviewed, journal for library and information professionals published by the University of Alberta.
- International Journal of Library and Information ScienceAn international journal that publishes researched articles, reviews, and commentaries on all aspects of the field of library and information science.
- Journal of Critical Library and Information StudiesA journal that aims to recognize the diversity and cross-disciplinary nature of librarianship, often rooted in critical and theoretical perspectives from the humanities and social sciences
- In the Library with the Lead PipeA peer reviewed journal that publishes articles written by professionals in various roles within libraries and “encourage creative thinking, envelope-pushing, and constructive criticism” is their publications.
- Library JournalPublishes important news, book reviews, trends, and developments in the field of librarianship.
- Urban Library JournalA peer reviewed journal by the Library Association of the City University of New York that publishes on a variety of topics related to libraries in city environments.
UI Libraries Journal Subscriptions
- Library QuarterlyA journal that provide articles that analyze the role of libraries in society through a variety of methods. More recent issues of the journal can be accessed on the journal's site, linked here.
- Library TrendsA journal that organizes each issue around a trend or theme in librarianship, with articles that focus on literature reviews, analyses, and applications.
- Library and Information ResearchA peer reviewed journal publishing work focused on the research processes, methods, theoretical frameworks, and applications of library and information science.
- Reference and User Services QuarterlyThe official journal of the Reference and User Services Association, a division of the ALA. It focuses on publishing topics relevant to reference librarians, user services, and information specialists.