- UI Libraries home
- Guides
- Engineering Guides
- Mechanical Engineering
- Finding Information
Mechanical Engineering: Finding Information
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Finding Information
- Compendex (Engineering Village)Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
- SAE Digital LibraryTechnical Papers (1906 - present); Aerospace Material Specifications; Aerospace Standards; Ground Vehicle Standards
- Business Source CompleteProvides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for peer-reviewed business publications.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)Provides indexing and access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
- ASME Digital LibraryProvides abstracts and some full-text access to regularly published journals and annual publications from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Includes Technical Papers and Symposia/Proceedings.
- Iowa Research OnlineIowa Research Online (IRO) is a service of the University of Iowa Libraries dedicated to preserving and providing open access to the scholarly and creative work of the University. You can find electronic theses and dissertations from the UI.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full TextIndexes U.S. doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Big Ten Academic Alliance InstitutionsBig Ten Academic Alliance dissertations, including free full-text from 1997 to the present. Click on "Full-text" to download the complete dissertation.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ The University of IowaUI dissertations, including free full text from 1997 to the present. Click on "Full-text" to download the complete dissertation.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781259588501Publication Date: 2017-11-08This 100th Anniversary Edition has been extensively updated to deliver current, authoritative coverage of the topics most critical to today's Mechanical Engineer. Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering.
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations, Second Edition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071458863Publication Date: 2006-03-10Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily This trusted compendium of calculation methods delivers fast, accurate solutions to the toughest day-to-day mechanical engineering problems. You will find numbered, step-by-step procedures for solving specific problems together with worked-out examples that give numerical results for the calculation.
- ASM Handbooks OnlineThe industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology. The ASM Handbook is published by ASM International, the preeminent association for engaging and connecting materials professionals and their organizations to the resources necessary to solve problems, improve outcomes, and advance society.
- RS Means BooksAvailable as physical books in the Engineering Library.
Estimate construction costs with industry-leading unit price books. With the constant flow of new construction methods and materials, it can be a challenge for Owners, Construction Estimators, Architects and Engineers to find the time to evaluate all the different cost possibilities. RSMeans data makes it easy, tracking labor and material cost changes so you’ll always have the most up-to-date and reliable pre-construction cost information at your fingertips.