General Reference
- Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowReference source covering all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with full text of most dissertations published after 1997.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowCombining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies Online guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Gnomon (German bibliographic search engine)
Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations
Art and art-related sources
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations of articles in arhcaeology and art history.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles 1997- present; abstracts of articles 1994 - present; and citations to articles in journals 1984 - present
- Art Full Text plus Art Index Retropsective This link opens in a new windowSearch both ArtFull Text and Art Index Retrospective at the same time.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Coverage: 1-32, 1929-1984 - parallels Art Full Text. Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCitations of articles in architectural journals.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowCitations for articles appearing in art and art-related journals. Coverage stopped in 2007. The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on this site as of July 1, 2010, comprises two databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990â2007; this version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art), covers 1975 â 1989; this version includes all records with abstracts in English and all subject terms in English
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences (including art, architecture and archaeology). Note: this database contains only back issues and does not include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Online Resources for Journal Articles and Citations
General Sources
- L’Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowCitations for books and articles covering most aspects of the Greek and Roman world, including art, archaeology, and religion. (The site is in English.)
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsProvides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals.
Web Resources
- Aquae Urbis Romae/The Waters of RomeAn interactive cartographic history of the relationships between hydrological and hydraulic systems and their impact on the urban development of Rome.
- Ara Pacis AugustaeA comprehensive body of images of the Ara Pacis Augustae.
Art of Making in Antiquity: Stoneworking in the Roman World
An innovative digital project designed for the study of Roman stoneworking
Decoding the source abbreviations frequently used: Click here
- Rome RebornA virtual reality tour of Ancient Rome
- DiotimaMaterials for the study of women and gender in the ancient Mediterannean world
- Lacus Curtius: Into the Roman WorldA number of sources on ancient Rome, including Samuel Ball Platner's A Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome.
- Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new windowMultimedia library of Archaic and Classical Greek literature, history, art, and archaeology. Pictures of ancient ruins, antique art, and much more. Read Greek texts online in Greek or English
- Plan of RomeA large plaster model which represents ancient Rome in the times of the emperor Constantine (IVth C. A.D.).
- History of Ancient RomeExamines various aspects of Roman life, such as religion, architecture, clothing, government, gladiators, etc.
Important Reference Books
Boardman, J. Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) (Art Library Reference NX650 .M9 L48)
Claridge, A. Rome: An Oxford Archaeological Guide (Art Library Reserve DG62 .C53 1998 )
Nash, E. Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO NA310 .N28 1968 )
Platner, S.B. A topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve DG16 .P685 1965 )
Richardson, L. A new topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO DG68 .R5 1992 )
Haselberger, L. Mapping Augustan Rome (Art Library Reserve FOLIO GA895.R65 M37 2002 )
Steinby, E. Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae (Main Library Reference Collection FOLIO DG63 .L49 1993 )
Important Journals
American Journal of Archaeology
Library: The years 1897-1999 are shelved off site at the Library Annex. The years 2000-2011 are shelved alphabetically among the journals on the 3rd floor of the Main Library.
Online access: JSTOR (1897-2005)
Journal of Roman Studies
Library: Main Library Folio DG 11 .J7 (1911-2009)
Online access: JSTOR (1911-2007)
Journal of Roman Archaeology
Library: Main Library DG 11 .J68 (1988-2010)
Evaluating Information
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Evaluating your sources
Authority - Find out who's telling you the information, an expert or scholar?
Source - Who's the publisher or entity responsible for presenting the information?
Coverage - Is it scholarly or popular? Who's the intended audience? (Check the vocabulary, language and tone.) What's the depth/scope?
Accuracy - Are the facts, names, dates, etc correct?
Objectivity - Is there a bias or particular viewpoint?
Date - Is it recent? (Is that relevant?)
