Provides medium scale topographic data for the continent of Antarctica

Comprehensive collection of map and GIS data from Big Ten Academic Alliance Universities

A list of over 300 free data sources from around the world

Open data from the Government of Canada

Offers users the ability to search with 3D imagery, including 3D buildings, trees, and oceans

Humanitarian datasets (over 18,000) provided by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs

A Google Spreadsheet listing free geographic datasets useful for international humanitarian response

Provides detailed data and satellite images of anywhere in world

A a running list of sources of geospatial parcel data for Iowa counties.

A statewide dataset of parcels for Iowa provided by Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management.

Demographic data from the US Census and American Community Survey, offered as tables (and some shapefiles with added data) ready for import into GIS software

Offers environmental and natural resources data and free use of maps

Provides georeferenced HOLC maps of US cities along with corresponding shapefiles and GeoJSON files pertaining to redlining in the US

Physical geographic information is stored in the National Atlas, such as land cover, hydrography, orthoimagery and elevation data.

Resources on bathymetry and topography

Tutorials and guides to getting things done in teaching and research with spatial tools and resources.

The US Census stores its spatial data in a "Master Address File and Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing system" (MAF/TIGER). Researchers may download limited extracts from this database as shapefiles to use in GIS software or GIS applications. This is a very easy way to obtain (vector) shapes, which can be joined with regular data tables (such as those from Fact Finder) to generate maps that include quantitative information.

Compiled and revised by Joseph Elfelt to promote public access to government data

Provides resources on GIS and Spatial Technologies.

Contains historical and contemporary photos. Map Collection owns over 150,000 Iowa aerial photos.

A source for population, housing, business and government statistics about Iowa

ArcGIS REST Server for the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Geospatial data from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Regularly meets to discuss Iowa's geospatial infrastructure and provide an overview of the state's activities.

Provided by Iowa State University to furnish free access to Iowa geographic map data through online map viewers and web map services

GIS Data Repository - a home for Iowa Counties GIS data (log in required)

A free service provided by the GeoTREE Center at the University of Northern Iowa

Stores information gathered by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. The site offers all of Iowa's data on natural resources and geographic information.

Provides political districts for the State of Iowa in addition to a few other items of interest

The ArcGIS REST Server for Iowa State University

Provides information on Iowa City, Coralville, and other surrounding communities

Beacon and Johnson County Property Information Viewer provide information on landuse designation, ownership, and values of land parcels

Includes Cedar Rapids

A geoportal allowing for filtering of worldwide open data portals through a web map

Public geospatial data, tools, and resources from the State of Iowa

County-level GIS data services. Many are unofficial and not maintained by county government services. Parcel data sources are also included.