International Business
globalEDGE
International business web portal created by Michigan State University. Includes country information, global industry and market data, and international business and trade information for U.S. states and foreign countries.
Need Help? Contact Willow
Willow Fuchs
she / her / hers
Contact:
Pomerantz Business Library
319-335-3077
Website
319-335-3077
Subjects: Business and Economics
Need Help? Contact Kim
Country Stats and Analysis
- Country Reports & ReviewsCountry reports & review accessible though Business Source Complete
- CIA World FactbookThe CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) provides short profiles for 266 world entities. Profiles include economic, social, political, and demographic information.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- globalEDGEInternational business web portal created by Michigan State University. Includes country information, global industry and market data, and international business and trade information for U.S. states and foreign countries.
- Country Profiles (BBC News)Short guides to the history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories. Key international organizations are also profiled.
- Doing Business (IFC and the World Bank)The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
- EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) ViewsWireAnalysis of business, economic, financial, political, and regulatory environments of countries.
**** After logging into ABI/INFORM, go to Publications tab, and type "eiu" in search box. **** - Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) Confidence IndexAnnual survey of top executives regarding preferred locations for foreign direct investment.
- Human Development Reports (United Nations)The mission of the Human Development Report Office (HDRO) is to advance human development. The goal is to contribute towards the expansion of opportunities, choice and freedom. The office works towards this goal by promoting innovative new ideas, advocating practical policy changes, and constructively challenging policies and approaches that constrain human development.
- Index of Economic FreedomThe Heritage Foundation's rankings of countries' economic freedom, based on variables in ten categories. The site provides analysis for each country and scores from previous years.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFind articles in over 1200 business journals, Datamonitor company reports, country analysis reports, and industry reports.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowSource for global business and financial information. Provides news reports for "Moody's Manuals."
- International Statistical AgenciesThe U.S. Census Bureau provides an extensive list of links to statistical gathering agencies in foreign countries.
- U.S. Census International Data Base (IDB)Demographic and socioeconomic statistics for 227 countries and areas of the world. The site ranks countries by population and provides world population information.
- WDI Online This link opens in a new windowStatistical data for over 550 development indicators in 213 economies. Coverage dates from 1960 and includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
- Passport (Consumer Industries) This link opens in a new windowPassport is Euromonitor International’s global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world. It monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across all key countries.
- FAOLEX DatabaseFAOLEX is a database of national legislation, policies and bilateral agreements on food, agriculture and natural resources management. It is constantly being updated, with an average of 8,000 new entries per year. It currently contains legal and policy documents drawn from more than 200 countries, territories and regional economic integration organizations and originating in over 40 languages.
- World Economic Outlook (WEO) databaseThe World Economic Outlook (WEO) database is created during the biannual WEO exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the April and September/October WEO publication. Selected series from the publication are available in a database format. See also the World Economic Outlook reports.