Mathematics: Books & E-Books
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Map of Math Books in the Main LibraryThis map shows where math books and math print journals are located in the Main Library.
- InfoHawk+Use InfoHawk+ to search for items available from the University Libraries. Sign in to request and save.
- E-Book CollectionsE-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
- WorldCatSearch for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Library E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
- Cambridge E-Book CollectionOffers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch and view EBSCOhost's collection of eBooks.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new windowElsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
- Springer E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
- Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new windowWiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009.
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of MathematicsAuthoritative and reliable, this A–Z reference work provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms.
Print Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics by Call Number: Engineering Library QA5 .F35 2005ISBN: 9780816056514Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Call Number: Engineering Library FOLIO QA5 .T34 2005ISBN: 9780816051243Publication Date: 2005-06-01Contents: A to Z entries -- Feature essays : "History of equations and algebra" -- "History of calculus" -- "History of functions" -- "History of geometry" -- "History of probability and statistics" -- "History of trigonometry" -- Appendixes : Appendix I. Chronology -- Appendix II. Bibliography and Web resources -- Appendix III. Associations.
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics by Call Number: Main Math Reference FOLIO QA5 .W45 2003ISBN: 1584883472Publication Date: 2002-12-12
