Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Test & Measurement Instruments
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
RECOMMENDED BROWSER IS CHROME; To limit searches to tests where the full text is available, use the “Full Text” checkbox. A research database from the American Psychological Association (APA) that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Use PsycINFO to find test development articles
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." Tests in Print, produced by the Buros Institute, is a listing of commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP compliments and supplements the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Finding Tests, Surveys and Measurement Instruments
Far a variety of reasons, finding actual tests and psychological measurement instruments can be complicated. This guide aims to explain some of the complications and suggest strategies to find what you need. Although University of Iowa College of Education students in Iowa City may be able to take advantage of the resources in the Paul Blommers Measurement Resources Library and the many print test books available there, this guide is focused on helping off-campus students and emphasizes non-print resources where possible.
Why are tests so hard to find?
- Proprietary - Many standard test instruments are published and must be purchased.
- Ethical standards -Some researchers may want their test only used by those trained in its use.
- Size - some journals don't want to include tests along with articles because they take up a lot of room.
What can you do?
- Focus on tests available online through the PsycTESTS database.
- Use the techniques in the Finding Instruments in Articles tab to locate instruments appended to journal articles.
- Contact researchers or owners of the copyright for permission to use the test.
- Buy the published test. However, published tests are often expensive and purchasers must show that they have the credentials to administer the test.