Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
E-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
Search for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
If the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Library E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
Cambridge E-Book Collection
Offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Use these dictionaries and encyclopedias to define your terms or get a general overview on your topic.
Dictionary of Ecology
From Oxford Reference Online: This is the fourth edition of the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of ecology available.
Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
From Oxford Reference Online: This informative dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of environmental science and conservation.
The Oxford Companion to Global Change
The Oxford Companion to Global Change is an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability consists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation.
New Environmental Sciences Books
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
Call Number: Engineering Library: GE10 .E528 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Contents: v. 1. Environment and ecology -- v. 2. Business and economics -- v. 3. Equity and fairness.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science by
Call Number: Engineering Library TD9.W95 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Contents: Acronyms (and other abbreviations) -- Unit prefixes -- Approximate unit equivalents -- BYU content of common energy units -- Concentrations -- Standard (average) human factors -- Plastic recycling codes -- Earth statistics -- Atmosphere statistics -- Water statistics -- World population growth -- The carbon cycle -- The chemical elements -- The Greek alphabet.