Chicano Indian American House (LNACC), 1971
Latino Native American Cultural Center picture taken from the University of Iowa Archives, Department of Special Collections : Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center (RG 02.03.07)
Websites
- ONDA LATINA THE MEXICAN AMERICAN EXPERIENCEThe Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
- Chicanas.com / "Making Face, Making Soul: A Chicana Feminist Website"Making Face, Making Soul is a site by, for, and about Chicanas, meaning women of Mexican descent in the United States. This site contains a variety of resources ranging from short biographies of Chicanas, to Chicana poetry and literature, cultural resources, academic resources, and more...
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressThe Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Latinx/o/a Research Databases
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; A comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material about Mexican-Americans. Extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowHAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Films
Note: All annotations for these films come from WorldCat and ALA Video Round Table
View movie trailers by clicking on the title of the movie.
- Alcatraz is Not an IslandCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 24340 DVDThis program tells the story of the American Indian occupation of Alcatraz Island in San Francisco Bay beginning in 1969. Many of the former participants are interviewed.
The Ballad of Gregorio CortezCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 1443 VHS"True story, told from several points of view, of 1901 incident in which a young Mexican killed an American sheriff, then managed to elude a 600-man posse for nearly two weeks."--Leonard Maltin's TV, movies and video guide, 1987 ed
Before Night Falls (2001)Call Number: Main Media Collection Video record 10233 DVDA look at the life of Reinaldo Arenas, from childhood in Cuba to his death in New York City. His writings and homosexuality get him in trouble with Castro’s Cuba and he spends two years in prison before leaving for the United States.
CHICANO! The History of the Mexican American Civil Rights MovementCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 4461 VHSA documentary examining the struggle by Mexican Americans to gain equality and full rights as U.S. citizens, with particular focus on the 10 year period from 1965 to 1975 and the areas of land ownership, labor, education and political empowerment.- Coming to Light: Edward S. Curtis and the North American IndiansCall Number: Main Media Services Video record 10015 VHSAnne Makepeace's moving biography of Edward S. Curtis, the pioneer photographer of American Indians, also visits descendants of Curtis's subjects who today use his images to revive the past.
FarmingvilleCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 16707 DVDIn the late 1990s, 1,500 illegal Mexican day laborers bypass traditional Southwestern cities and settle in Farmingville, NY, causing extreme tension in a community of approximately 15,000.- Favela RisingCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 23289 DVDDocuments how former drug-trafficker, Anderson Sá and the Grupo Cultural AfroReggae are working to unite a Rio slum, or favela, against a violent drug industry and police oppression.
- Homeland: Four Portraits of Native ActionCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 19205 DVDTells the story of several Native American tribes and their struggles against environmental racism as they fight to protect and care for their ancestral lands.
- Lakota Woman (1994)Call Number: Main Media Collection Video record 24531 VHSAnger that's been swirling for 100 years finally explodes like a force of nature. This is the inspiring, true story of the 1973 uprising that united Native Americans in their fight for survival. One woman rises from ignorance and fear to meet the challenge of her proud heritage during a bloody siege in which 2,000 Native Americans stood their ground and vowed never to be silent again.
- Maquilapolis = City of Factories.Call Number: Main Media Collection Video record 24374 DVDUsing video diaries kept by two women promotoras (community activists), this documentary explores the environmental devastation and urban chaos of Tijuana's maquiladoras, the multinationally owned factories that came to Mexico for cheap labor. Maquiladora workers--overwhelmingly women--produce televisions, electrical cables, toys, clothes, batteries and IV tubes, they weave the very fabric of life for consumer nations. They also confront labor violations, toxic waste dumps, and the unhealthy conditions in the colonias where they live. As globalization turns workers into a commodity that can be bought anywhere in the world for the lowest price, the stories of Carmen and Lourdes illustrate what can be accomplished with determination and faith in the future.
- The Return of Navajo BoyCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 24339 DVDThe resurfacing of a decades-old film reunites a man and his family and explores radioactivity problems on the Navajo reservation. The original film, Navaho boy: the Monument Valley story, produced by Robert J. Kennedy, chronicled the Cly and Begay families. The new film, Return of Navajo boy, juxtaposes the families' lives now and then. The current film also explores the effects of uranium exposure from the mines on the Navajo Nation on the health of the Navajo people. It documents the return/reunion of John Wayne Cly, a Navajo boy, taken as a child by missionaries around 1960 from his Navajo family.
WalkoutCall Number: Main Media Collection Video record 23813 DVDAn idealistic honor student organizes a multi-school walkout to protest unfair treatment of Mexican Americans by the East Los Angeles public school system. Based on a true story.
Zoot Suit (1981)Call Number: Main Media Collection Video record 28165 DVDA group of Mexican-Americans are sent to San Quentin unjustly for the death of a man at Sleepy Lagoon. Based on the actual case and zoot suit riots of 1940’s Los Angeles.
Books
The Power of the Zoot: Youth Culture and Resistance During World War IICall Number: Main Library E169 .A45 2008The Power of the Zoot is the first book to give national consideration to this famous phenomenon. Providing a new history of youth culture based on rare, in-depth interviews with former zoot-suiters, Luis Alvarez explores race, region, and the politics of culture in urban America during World War II. He argues that Mexican American and African American youths, along with many nisei and white youths, used popular culture to oppose accepted modes of youthful behavior, the dominance of white middle-class norms, and expectations from within their own communities.
Ojibwa Warrior : Dennis Banks and the Rise of the American Indian MovementCall Number: Main Library E99.C6 B258 2004Dennis Banks, an American Indian of the Ojibwa Tribe, is probably the most influential Indian leader of our time. In Ojibwa Warrior, written with acclaimed writer and photographer Richard Erdoes, Banks tells his own story for the very first time and reveals an inside look at the birth of the American Indian Movement.
Beyond Red Power: American Indian Politics and Activism since 1900A groundbreaking work that offers a new approach to modern American Indian history. Dense, revisionist, theoretical, and for the most part meticulously researched. --Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education
La Raza Unida Party: A Chicano Challenge to the U.S. Two-Party DictatorshipCall Number: Main Library JK2391.R39 N38 2000"This superbly researched study of La Raza Unida Party clearly demonstrates how and why the idealistic Chicano generation rejected 'politics as usual' to help their raza. In recounting the story of one of the most significant American political alternatives in the twentieth century, Narvarro succeeds in the difficult task of blending passion with objectivity." --F. Arturo Rosales, Professor of History, Arizona State University "Armando Navarro's work provides us with the definitive study of La Raza Unida Party. His impressive and comprehensive historical analysis of this important American third party combines the insights of the participant observer with the research methodologies and theoretical context of the trained scholar." --Mario Barrera, Professor Emeritus, Department of Ethnic Studies, University of California, Berkeley, and author of Race and Class in the Southwest
Multicultural Films: A Reference GuideCall Number: Main Reference Collection PN1995.9.M56 W45 2005“With multiculturalism being touched on in so many different classes, this guide to more than 150 films will be greatly appreciated by teachers. Arranged by race/ethnic group, the films are in sections representing African, Arab, Asian, European, Latino/a and Native Americans. Some films may represent more than one group....While securing films is always dependent upon budgets, a picture continues to be worth a thousand words and these help expand understanding of our diverse culture. They should be helpful in increasing student acceptance of differences. Highly recommended.”–Gale Reference for Students
Native American Research Databases
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Indexes works from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canadian government publications. Areas covered include native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research. This bibliography, from Human Relations Areas Files (HRAF), contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- Native Health DatabaseThe Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowA compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. When complete, the database will include 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, presenting the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage: 1677 to present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- American West This link opens in a new windowOver 300 manuscripts- ranging from the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon, and a twelve page letter of General Custer, to the logbook of a cattle trail driver and the Hinman papers describing the overland trail to California and the Gold Rush. A host of extremely rare or unique ephemeral material including advertisements, claim certificates, cheques, photos, wanted notices and news-sheets. Maps - an important and underutilised resource for teaching the American West - partly due to their size and unwieldy nature - partly due to their rarity. Includes many unique or extremely rare items - ranging from extra-illustrated volumes and association copies to city directories and pamphlets and leaflets.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new windowExplore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new windowIndian Claims Insight allows users to research the history of U.S. Indian claims from 1789-present. Unique compiled docket histories provide legal researchers with the ability to quickly search the full text of all content related to each claim, which can be narrowed on-the-fly to pinpoint a topic. The compilation includes not only court documents, but also cited treaties, related congressional publications, and maps to facilitate the ability of researchers to fully understand the specifics of each case without leaving the docket history page.
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new windowFull text of plays by American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islanders playwrights of the 20th century; information about the plays and their production, and biographical data. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada, including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Also includes issues of the Native playwrights’ newsletter.
Additional Web Resources
- Circle of StoriesCircle of Stories uses documentary film, photography, artwork and music to honor and explore Native American storytelling.
- Records of the Bureau of Indian AffairsThis web version of the Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States is based on a paper version with the same title compiled by Robert B. Matchette et al in 1995. This version incorporates descriptive information about federal records acquired by the National Archives after the 1995 paper edition went to press, and it is regularly updated to reflect new acquisitions of federal records.
- USA.govU.S. government's official web portal - Information For Tribal Governments and Native Americans
- Internet ArchiveFor digital copies of many documents search the Internet Archive. The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Additional Resources
Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology
Digitized copies of the BAE Annual Reports at Gallica
Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution began publication in 1881, though the Bureau at the time (and its reports) did not have "American" in its title. That was added to the series in 1897. The reports ceased with number 48 of the new series, published for 1930/31.
Main Oversize FOLIO E51 .U66 no.200
The North American Indian, being a series of volumes picturing and describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
Main Oversize FOLIO E77 .C97 1907a
Handbook of North American Indians
A 20-volume encyclopedia summarizing knowledge about all Native peoples north of Mesoamerica, including cultures, languages, history, prehistory, and human biology. Standard reference work for anthropologists, historians, students, and the general reader. Chapters by the main authorities on each topic. Area volumes include separate chapters on all tribes. Heavily illustrated, extensive bibliographies, well indexed. Each volume may be purchased and used independently.
Main Oversize FOLIO E77 .H25
Main Reference Collection FOLIO E77 .H25
Smithsonian Institution. Annual report. (Indexes)
Government Publications Q11 .S6612 1963a
Annual report of the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution.
Government Publications Q11 .S6