Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many, many databases and internet sites that could help you with your research topic. If the sources below do not give you the information you are seeking, be sure to contact your subject librarian for additional suggestions.
CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales). Biblioteca Virtual
Provides access to social science full-text books, periodical articles, conference papers, etc. published by numerous social science research institutes in Latin American and the Caribbean.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
A comprehensive site on Latin America and the Caribbean maintained by the University of Texas at Austin. Broken down by countries, economy, education, government, humanities, internet and computing, libraries and reference, media (including full-text newspapers), recreation, regional resources, science, social sciences, society and culture (including human rights), sustainable development, etc.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
A website that will help locate social sciences "grey literature" produced in Latin America. "The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Fully searchable, comprehensive Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary, part of Oxford Language Dictionaries Online.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
Database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo, which contains the world's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. The collection was begun in 1886 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents.