Industry Profiles - Industry Information - Guides at University of Iowa

Industry Info Databases

Use the following databases to find information on industry trends, key players, industry ratios & statistics, forecasts and more.

Watch the accompanying videos for more help.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business reports in four categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, and economic and demographic data. US, Global, and China coverage.
If you have difficulty viewing this site, please clear your cache and open a new browser window.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
NetAdvantage (Standard and Poor's) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the S&P Industry Surveys (U.S. and global)
U.S. surveys cover 50 industries, are updated twice a year, and contain analysis, trend, and overview information

Passport (Consumer Industries) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Passport is Euromonitor International’s global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world. It monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across all key countries.

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Includes industry profile reports with information on current environment, key references, market trends and forecasts

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles in over 1200 business journals,and Marketline company reports, country analysis reports, and industry reports.

First Research This link opens in a new window
More than 1000 top industry segments are covered. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more.
Freedonia Focus Portal This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry market research, consisting of over 250 reports covering 18 industry sectors. The reports provide market size, historical and forecasted demand by product and markets, and profiles of the market leading companies.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for "TechNavio" to find industry reports. Then use left hand column to choose Resource: TechNavio, geography, industry, etc.
Small Business Source (Small Business Reference Center) This link opens in a new window
Small Business Source offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Completing the database are business videos that provide critical information for business owners including interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.

Beverage World
Beverage World's mission is to serve the global beverage market through in-depth intelligence, analysis and insights, plus unparalleled coverage of innovation and news for beverage marketers, producers, distributors and retailers around the world.
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Book: Reference, HF1041 .C56 2013
Provides worldwide supply/demand and production/consumption data for basic commodities and futures markets. Also contains short descriptions of each commodity; these descriptions help place the quantitative information in perspective.
Iowa Manufacturers Register
Iowa City Historical Library Iowa Stacks * HD9727.I8 I86
Directory of manufacturers located in the state of Iowa.
Pharmaceutical Marketers Directory
Hardin Library For Health Sci Permanent Reserve HD9665.3 .P2
Includes information on over 5,000 firms and 15,000 executives in the healthcare industry. Each section contains addresses, phone & fax numbers, e-mail & web site addresses, and names of personnel. Also includes a listing of frequently requested association information.

Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date articles, market research, and reports on the sports industry. Users can find information on individual sports, as well as topics such as sponsorship and marketing.