Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UI Laboratory Services Handbook
From the University of Iowa's Department of Pathology
Lab Tests Online
From the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC), this site is designed to help patients and caregivers understand various lab tests.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
Provides information on new FDA approvals and results of clinical trials of new drugs. The New Medical Therapies summaries are no longer being updated
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings.
Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new window
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions This link opens in a new window
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere.
Side Effects of Drugs Annual
updates Meyler’s between editions.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.
A collection of databases that provide Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies
NLM Drug Information Portal
The NLM (National Library of Medicine) Drug Information Portal allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once. They include PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus
Hardin Library Clinical Pharmacy Guide
For more resources, view the entire subject guide.
Radiation Oncology Library Liaison