Clinical Pharmacy Resources: Drug Information

Databases and other Resources on Pharmacy and Drug Information.

Hardin Library

Table 3-2 Useful Resources for Common Categories of Drug Information in Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists (Malone) can be a good start point. It lists resources for specific categories of drug information requests. It can be found in Chapter 3 under Tertiary Resources.

ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey's drug information is provided by Gold Standard (Clinical Pharmacology). Click "Drug Monographs" link below the search box. Browse drugs by name of drug, indication, contraindication and adverse reactions. ClinicalKey was formerly known as MDConsult.
Essential Evidence Plus and AHFS DI Essentials
Essential Evidence Plus is a clinical decision support system (formerly called InfoPOEMS) which includes over 13,000 conditions, diseases, and procedures. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation's merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews.

DrugPoints System
DrugPoints System provides summarized drug information.
Epocrates
Provides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. This is a free resource but registration is required to access some features. Other features require an individual subscription. Mobile version (Epoctrates Rx) is available. Students can contact Epocrates at 1-800-230-2150 for information on discounts for individual subscriptions.
GlobalRph
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Micromedex)
Martindale is also included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.3 .M4
UpToDate
University Libraries subscription to UpToDate include Lexicomp drug information monographs

Micromedex
Micromedex’s Academic Program subscription is available when one is using a computer physically located in the COP building [PHAR]. More about this program at http://www.micromedex.com/products/academics/

NLM Drug Information Portal
This is a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. It allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once including PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ChemIDplus, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus. Its mobile site can be accessed at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/m.drugportal/
The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) (print copy)
Available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.2 .P5

USP-NF Online
Users are required to create a individual account to access this resource. Please use your University (uiowa.edu) email address for your account.
The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.

This list is compiled by Vern Duba at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

DailyMed Product Identification System
Identify by imprint, shape, color, size and scoring (includes pictures and drug labels),
Drugs.com
Click on “Pill Identifier" tab on the top; Read and agree to the disclaimer enter known physical description information.
FDA Center for Drug Evaluation & Research (CDER) Division of Drug Information (DDI)
FDA Center for Drug Evaluation & Research (CDER), Division of Drug Information (DDI) staff can identify drugs for you based on physical appearance (color, shape, size, etc.) and markings.
more...less...
E-mail DDI your drug description at druginfo@cder.fda.gov. FDA DDI staff will identify drugs for you as soon as possible. However, please note that this is not an emergency service. You can call the Poison Control Center at any time and get information about your medicine: 1-800-222-1222.

Rxlist.com
Click on “Pill Identifier" tab on the top and enter known physical description information.

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
The CDER website contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals.
DailyMed (NLM)
Provided by National Library of Medicine. Contains package inserts for FDA approved drug products and package inserts for biologics approved by FDA Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).
Drugs@FDA
Allows you to search for information on FDA approved drug and selected therapeutic biological products.

UpToDate
Search the drug name and select Drug Information from the result list. Look for "Pricing: US " in left side bar.
Micromedex
When using a hard-wired computer at the College of Pharmacy to access Micromedex, one has access to RED BOOK, a drug pricing resource.

Email Me

Contact:

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

100 Hardin Library

Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098

319-335-9849

Fax 319-353-3752

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Sciences Departments and Programs