It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is a collection of resources related to the Sackner Archive exhibition in the Main Library Gallery. (Fall 2020.)
SACKNER ARCHIVE EXHIBIT
Resources for Gallery Visitors
ABOUT THE EXHIBITION
In June 2019, the University of Iowa announced that the University Libraries had been chosen as the new home of the Ruth and Marvin Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry, the most comprehensive such collection in the world. To celebrate the opening of this important collection to the public and to introduce Iowans and the University community to the vast and impressive range of resources held in the Sackner Archive, from artists’ books to reference works to large-scale works of visual poetry, an inaugural exhibition featuring a few highlights from the collection is being held in the Main Library Gallery from August 24 – December 11, 2020.
Besides demonstrating the remarkable artistry and diversity of some of the most significant poet-artists of the past hundred years, the exhibition will bring to light some of the many ways the new collection can support teaching and research at the University.
Sackner Archive was drawn almost entirely from the Ruth and Marvin Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry at the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections. We recognize and appreciate the decades of constant, careful work that Ruth and Marvin put into curating this collection for their "Home Sweet Museum." The University of Iowa Libraries remains honored to have been chosen as its new "Home Sweet Library."
Sackner Archive Exhibition Guide
Accessible PDF document. The complete guide to the exhibition, including curators' statements; an introduction; defining concrete and visual poetry; providing background and detail for poets, movements, and works represented in the exhibition; a comprehensive item list; and complete exhibition credits.
Sackner Archive: Poets as Dissidents
October 30, 2020. Timothy Shipe. In former Czechoslovakia, concrete poets were at the heart of dissident movements seeking to reform or overthrow the Communist regime.
Contact Special Collections
To learn more about the complete Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry at the University of Iowa Libraries, contact Special Collections.
The Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry
Original website for The Sackner Archive of Visual and Concrete Poetry. The introduction page gives a very detailed explanation of Ruth and Marvin Sackner's collecting interest and methods, and is an excellent resource for information about many of the poets and works represented in their collection.
UbuWeb - Visual Poetry
"UbuWeb's Visual Poetry section exposes little-seen exemplars of historical praxis and models of contemporary insight to a wider audience. This section includes anthologies, ephemeral publications, criticism and sporadic journals dedicated to visual poetry."
UbuWeb - Concrete Poetry
This large online collection of concrete poetry also includes a lot of helpful information about concrete poets and the art form.