Iowa birding: Home
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Watch Discover Iowa's Birds: Intro to Birding
The University of Iowa Sciences Library invites you to learn how to get started with birding on campus and beyond with Linda Rudolph! Recorded on April 8, 2021.
Read more at the Sciences Library!
-
Kent Ornithology Collection
ISBN: 9780974707785In 2013 the Sciences Library received a collection of books on birds from Dr. Thomas H. Kent, which became the Kent Ornithology Collection. The collection consists of over 250 titles on birds and ornithology. This collection is a resource not only to the University of Iowa community, but is also available to borrowers throughout Iowa from the interlibrary loan services of local libraries. -
Birds of the World
Birds of the World is a powerful research database that brings together deep, scholarly content with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Birds of the World offers four major celebrated works of ornithology: Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds, and Bird Families of the World. Off-campus access is available only to University of Iowa students, staff, and faculty. -
What It's Like to Be a Bird
by
ISBN: 9780307957894Publication Date: 2020-04-14The bird book for birders and nonbirders alike that will excite and inspire by providing a new and deeper understanding of what common, mostly backyard, birds are doing--and why. -
The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Eastern North America
by
Call Number: Sciences Library QL681 .S493 2003ISBN: 9780679451204Publication Date: 2003-04-29The Sibley Guide to Birds has quickly become the new standard of excellence in bird identification guides, covering more than 810 North American birds in detail. -
The Sibley Field Guide to Birds of Western North America
by
Call Number: Sciences Library QL683.W4 S5 2003ISBN: 9780679451211Publication Date: 2003-04-29The Sibley Guide to Birds has quickly become the new standard of excellence in bird identification guides, covering more than 810 North American birds in detail. -
The Sibley Guide to Bird Life and Behavior
by
Call Number: Sciences Library QL681 .S495 2001ISBN: 9780679451235Publication Date: 2001-10-02Designed to enhance the birding experience and to enrich the popular study of North American birds, the book combines more than 795 of his full-color illustrations with authoritative text by 48 expert birders and biologists. -
The Sibley Guide to Birds
by
Call Number: Sciences Library QL681 .S497 2000ISBN: 9780679451228Publication Date: 2000-10-03David Allen Sibley, America's most gifted contemporary painter of birds, is the author and illustrator of this comprehensive guide. His beautifully detailed illustrations-more than 6,600 in all-and descriptions of 810 species and 350 regional populations will enrich every birder's experience. -
Iowa Breeding Bird Atlas II
by
Call Number: Freely available onlineISBN: 9781034118282Publication Date: 2020-12-17Results of the Iowa Breeding Bird Atlas II conducted 2008-2012. This book summarizes changes from the first atlas project twenty years ago with maps, tables, and charts showing the differences. Includes basic information on each species’ status in Iowa along with their habitat, breeding dates, basic nesting information, and population changes
Linda Rudolph
Linda Rudolph is a Coralville resident. She is a transplanted New Yorker, who retired from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics as an inpatient clinical pharmacist. Since retirement she has become an active local birder. Linda currently serves in the Iowa Ornithologists' Union as the Iowa Birds List Serve Co-Administrator. When she isn't hiking local areas, she enjoys international travel for birdwatching. Linda has currently seen over 3,400 bird species.
Get started with birding!
-
Iowa City Bird ClubOur mission is to promote the enjoyment, study, and conservation of birds in their natural habitats. Recreation, community and an appreciation of nature are huge parts of our frequent field trips, which are guided by local expert birders.
-
Iowa Ornithologists’ UnionWHO is an ornithologist? YOU are an ornithologist! If you enjoy the wild birds of Iowa, then you are one of us! No degrees, no training, no experience required. Under "Connect with Others," you can join the IA-Bird Mail List.
-
Audubon Binocular GuideProfessional ornithologists and dedicated birders reviewed nearly 50 pairs of binoculars from 16 companies.
-
eBirdeBird is among the world’s largest biodiversity-related science projects, with more than 100 million bird sightings contributed annually by eBirders around the world.
Try pressing the Explore button then > explore regions > and then consider entering Johnson, Iowa in the blank
A new page pops up with the recent photos, sightings etc in Johnson County.
Go back to eBird home page and try pressing the Help button
A whole page on how to get started with eBird and FAQ’s pops up.