Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
  • Restricted Resource
New
This JapanKnowledge content comprises a full collection of all 323 issues of Bungei Shunju (文藝春秋), a major literary magazine in Japan, from the founding issue to December 1950 (excepting special issues) as the Bungeishunju Archives. Around 90,000 pages of the original magazine are made available in PDF format. These pages contain essays, fiction, and articles by over 4,000 authors and contributors published in the 28 years up to the post-war period.

For enhanced convenience, as well as searches for headlines in article titles, searches have also been made possible by year and month of issue and author name. Moreover, as the full text of the body of articles, with the exception of advertisements, is given, full-text searches are also possible by keywords, proper nouns, etc. that appear in the articles. In addition, using the faceted search function available in the advanced search window, search results can be narrowed down, enabling extraction of the targeted article.
  • Restricted Resource
New
ClinMicroNow is a service from American Society for Microbiology Press, in partnership with Wiley, offering its gold standard clinical microbiology publications online for quick and easy access. ClinMicroNow includes: Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, and Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook
  • Restricted Resource
New
A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
  • Restricted Resource
  • Open Access
New
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
New
The University of Iowa Libraries is in the process of moving its institutional repository, Iowa Research Online (IRO), from bepress Digital Commons to Ex Libris Esploro. Although most of the content is the same in both systems, some legacy content is only available in Digital Commons and some new content is only available in Esploro. The two systems will exist in parallel for the next few months. Please contact lib-ir@uiowa.edu for assistance with either system.
Iowa Research Online preserves and provides access to the research and scholarship created by the University of Iowa’s faculty, students, and staff. The research papers, theses, dissertations, books, conference presentations, journals, and multimedia here represent Iowa’s rich intellectual and cultural community.
New
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
  • Restricted Resource
  • Open Access
New
The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
New Popular
Research companies, deals, investors, funds, limited partners, advisors, founders and C-suite. Company data includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms

FIRST TIME USERS: please create an account using your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu) and a password of your account.
  • Restricted Resource
New
NB: All users need to register with a username and password.
A web-based analytics solution that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 14,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide, SciVal allows users to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, and identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
  • Restricted Resource
New
Trismegistos is a conglomerate of databases, with Texts, Collections, Archives, People, Places, and Authors as main sections, dealing with texts from the ancient western world dated between roughly 800 BC and AD 800.
NB: Limited to one user at a time.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...