Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Restricted Resource
New
Bloomsbury International Encyclopedia of Surrealism is an exclusive digital resource presenting the first comprehensive and systematic overview of one of the most influential and enduring 20th-century art movements, from its beginnings to the present day.

Featuring a 3-volume major reference work, interactive timeline and rare archive images, portraits and artworks, this resource will be invaluable for academics and students in Art History/Theory, French Studies, Film Studies, Literary Studies, Photography and Visual Culture as well as Design/Fashion, Cultural History and Social/Cultural/Political Theory.
  • Restricted Resource
New
Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison.

In 2012, Phyllida Lloyd’s production of Julius Caesar at the Donmar depicted the catastrophic consequences of a political leader's extension of powers beyond the remit of the constitution. With a cast drawn partly from ex-offenders, it stunned audiences on both sides of the Atlantic and posed the question ‘Who owns Shakespeare?’
  • Restricted Resource
New
A fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
  • Restricted Resource
  • Open Access
New
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during this pivotal period. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. While holdings of many of the newspapers in this collection are available only in very short runs, the titles are often unique and, in many cases, represent the only existing record of a newspaper’s short-lived publication.
New
The University of Iowa Libraries is in the process of moving its institutional repository, Iowa Research Online (IRO), from bepress Digital Commons to Ex Libris Esploro. Although most of the content is the same in both systems, some legacy content is only available in Digital Commons and some new content is only available in Esploro. The two systems will exist in parallel for the next few months. Please contact lib-ir@uiowa.edu for assistance with either system.
Iowa Research Online preserves and provides access to the research and scholarship created by the University of Iowa’s faculty, students, and staff. The research papers, theses, dissertations, books, conference presentations, journals, and multimedia here represent Iowa’s rich intellectual and cultural community.
  • Restricted Resource
  • Open Access
New
The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
  • Restricted Resource
New
From ground-breaking British plays to the best of international drama and plays in translation, this is a unique and inspiring collection that features a diverse gathering of canonical and contemporary drama. Contemporary hit plays by innovative writers such as Clare Barron, Alice Birch, Jasmine Lee-Jones, Eve Leigh and Sh!t Theatre
New
iberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries. In the Political Extremism and Radicalism series Gale provides insight on unorthodox (by contemporary standards), fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Content supports scholars and students...
  • Restricted Resource
New
Access to more than 450 books published by SIAM over the past five decades. These titles have been written by internationally renowned experts and span a wide range of applied mathematics and computational science subject areas. The collection grows annually.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...