Image Resources
- Stanley Museum of Art Digital CollectionThe University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art’s permanent collection encompasses over sixteen thousand artworks from around the world. These support and enhance university research, teaching, and outreach, and enrich the lives of all Iowans.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of digital images and associated catalog data within JSTOR, with new image collections added several times a year. Artstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
To download images users MUST register for a personal account.
MOBILE USERS: For Apple: mobile.artstor.org. For Android: Download app from Google Play.
Reference
Utilize reference sources to identify:
WHO - who made this art work? who is depicted? who paid for it?
WHAT - what materials are used? what message is conveyed?
WHEN - when was the work created? what else was happening at that time?
WHERE - where in the world was the work created? what else is happening in this place?
WHY - why does this work exist? does it serve a particular function?
HOW - what process was used to create the work?
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Searching with InfoHawk +
Research Articles
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Indexes 1984 to date, abstracts 1994 to date, and full text 1997 to present for 376 international journals. Coverage includes periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in English and other Western European languages, with a broad subject range. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Object Project
Football
John Pusey
1934
Chalk
via Stanley Museum of Art Digital Collections
Subject Guide
Book Recommendation
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015ISBN: 9780205886999Publication Date: 2014-01-15The best-selling guide to writing about art Sylvan Barnet's A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing. Coverage of essential writing assignments includes formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, and essay examination. New to the 11th edition is a chapter on "Virtual Exhibitions: Writing Text Panels and Other Materials."
