RVAP
RVAP
For more information or to get confidential assistance in dealing with sexual violence, please visit the Rape Victim Advocacy Program. RVAP provides free, confidential and trauma-informed services to anyone directly or indirectly impacted by sexual violence in Cedar, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Johnson, Lee, Washington, and Van Buren counties. Anyone includes but is not limited to individuals of any age, gender, identity, culture, etc. Sexual violence is any sexual act committed against someone without that person’s freely given consent. This includes but is not limited to rape, sexual assault, stalking, harassment, sexual exploitation, etc.
About this Bibliography
Originally developed to recognize Sexual Assault Awareness Month in April 2020, this bibliography lists a sample of the electronic books available from the University of Iowa Libraries. To find more, search the InfoHawk+ catalog using terms such as: rape; intimate partner violence; sexual harassment of women; sexual abuse victims.
Books for Everyone
Blurred Lines by
A new sexual revolution is sweeping the country, and college students are on the front lines. Few places in America have felt the influence of #MeToo more intensely. Indeed, college campuses were in many ways the harbingers of #MeToo. Grigoriadis captures the nature of this cultural reckoning without shying away from its complexity. College women use fresh, smart methods to fight entrenched sexism and sexual assault even as they celebrate their own sexuality as never before. Many "woke" male students are more open to feminism than ever, while others perpetuate the cruelest misogyny. Coexisting uneasily, these students are nevertheless rewriting long-standing rules of sex and power from scratch. Eschewing any political agenda, Grigoriadis travels to schools large and small, embedding in their social whirl and talking candidly with dozens of students, as well as to administrators, parents, and researchers. Blurred Lines is a riveting, indispensable illumination of the most crucial social change on campus in a generation.
ISBN: 9780544702608Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Campus Sexual Assault by
A 2014 report issued by the White House Council on Women and Girls included the alarming statistic that one in five female college students in the United States experiences some form of campus sexual assault. Despite more than fifty years of anti-rape activism and over two decades of federal legislation regarding campus sexual violence, sexual assault on American college and university campuses remains prevalent, underreported, and poorly understood. A principal reason for this lack of understanding is that the voices of women who have experienced campus sexual assault have been largely absent from academic discourse about the issue. In Campus Sexual Assault, Lauren J. Germain focuses attention on the post-sexual assault experiences of twenty-six college women. She reframes conversations about sexual violence and student agency on American college campuses by drawing insight directly from the stories of how survivors responded individually to attacks, as well as how and why peers, family members, and school, medical, and civil authorities were (or were not) engaged in addressing the crimes. Germain weaves together women's narratives to show the women not as victims per se but as individuals with the power to overcome these traumatic experiences.
ISBN: 9781421419053Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Consent on Campus by
A 2015 survey of twenty-seven elite colleges found that twenty-three percent of respondents reported personal experiences of sexual misconduct on their campuses. That figure has not changed since the 1980s, when people first began collecting data on sexual violence. What has changed is thelevel of attention that the American public is paying to these statistics. Reports of sexual abuse repeatedly make headlines, and universities are scrambling to address the crisis.Their current strategy, Donna Freitas argues, is wholly inadequate. Universities must take a radically different approach to educating their campus communities about sexual assault and consent. Consent education is often a one-time affair, devised by overburdened student affairs officers.Universities seem more focused on insulating themselves from lawsuits and scandals than on bringing about real change. What is needed, Freitas shows, is an effort by the entire university community to deal with the deeper questions about sex, ethics, values, and how we treat one another, includingfacing up to the perils of hookup culture - and to do so in the university's most important space: the classroom. We need to offer more than a section in the student handbook about sexual assault, and expand our education around consent far beyond "Yes Means Yes." We need to transform our campusesinto places where consent is genuinely valued.Freitas advocates for teaching not just how to consent, but why it's important to care about consent and to treat one's sexual partners with dignity and respect. Consent on Campus is a call to action for university administrators, faculty, parents, and students themselves, urging them to createcultures of consent on their campuses, and offering a blueprint for how to do it.
ISBN: 9780190671150Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Intersections of Identity and Sexual Violence on Campus by
While sexual violence has been present and prevalent on campus for decades, the work of recent college student activists has made it an issue of major societal and institutional concern. This book makes an important contribution to and provides a foundation for better contextualizing and understanding sexual violence. Each chapter in this edited volume focuses on populations that are not often centered in the discourse of campus sexual violence and accounts for individuals' intersecting identities and how they interlock with larger systems of domination. Challenging dominant ideologies concerning assumptions of white women as the only victims-survivors, the racialization of aggressors, and the deleterious rape myths present in both research and practice, this book draws attention to the complexities of sexual violence on the college campus by highlighting populations that are frequently invisible in research, reporting, and practice. The book places sexual violence on campus in a historical context, centering the experiences of populations relegated to the margins, and highlighting the relationship between racism, classism, homophobia, transphobia, and other forms of domination to sexual violence. The final chapters of the book explore how critical models of intervention and prevention and a critical analysis of existing institutional policies may be implemented across college campuses to better address sexual violence for multiple populations and identities in higher education. This book will expand educators' understanding of sexual violence to inform more effective policies, procedures, practice, and research that reaches beyond preventing sexual violence and addresses the dominant systems from which sexual violence stems, in an attempt to eradicate, not just prevent, the act and the issue.
ISBN: 9781620363898Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Sharing Our Stories of Survival by
A general introduction to the social and legal issues involved in acts of violence against Native women, this book's contributors are lawyers, social workers, social scientists, writers, poets, and victims. In the U.S. Native women are more likely than women from any other group to suffer violence, from rape and battery to more subtle forms of abuse, and Sharing Our Stories of Survival explores the causes and consequences of such behavior. The stories and case-studies presented here are often painful and raw, and the statistics are overwhelmingly grim; but a countervailing theme also runs through this extremely informative volume: Many of the women who appear in these pages are survivors, often strengthened by their travails, and the violence examined here is human violence, meaning that it can be changed, if only with much effort and education. The first step is to lay out the truth for all to see, and that is the purpose accomplished by this book.
ISBN: 9780759113640Publication Date: 2007-10-15
Books for Professionals
Rape Narratives in Motion by
This book critically examines the last few decades of discussion around sex and violence in the media, on social media, in the courtroom and through legislation. The discursive struggles over what constitutes "sexual violence", "victims" and "offenders" is normally determined through narratives: a selective ordering of events and participants. Centrally, the book investigates the social processes involved in the telling of stories of rape and its political implications. From a multidisciplinary feminist perspective, this volume explores what narratives about sexual violence are deemed legitimate at this historical juncture. This volume brings together feminist scholars working in a wide variety of disciplines including law, legal studies, history, gender studies, ethnology, media, criminology and social work from across the globe. Through situated empirical work, these scholars seek to understand currents movements between the criminal justice system and the cultural imagination.
ISBN: 9783030138516Publication Date: 2019-04-02- Sexual Violence on Campus: Strategies for Prevention byPublication Date: 2016-11
- Sexual Violence at Institutions of Higher Education byPublication Date: 2016-04-15
Gender-Inclusive Treatment of Intimate Partner Abuse by
This groundbreaking book on the gender-inclusive treatment of intimate partner abuse has been fully updated to reflect new and refined evidence-based approaches that have evolved since the first edition was published nearly ten years ago. It describes new treatment protocols that are strongly supported by current research that enables mental health practitioners to engage in a more nuanced-and gender inclusive conceptualization and treatment of intimate partner abuse in its many permutations. The book eschews the field's previous reliance on traditional domestic violence and treatment protocols to offer new paradigms that reflect the trend toward a more balanced, evidence-based and less heteronormative conceptualization of partner abuse. It presents the latest findings from the third installment of the Partner Abuse State of Knowledge Project. Included are new examples of evidence-based programs currently in existence and those that are in formative stages, fully updated exercises and handouts, new risk assessment instruments, and new definitions of evidence-based treatment. Of special note are several new appendices that include updated assessment forms, a victim safety plan, client workbook guidelines and exercises, resources and programs for court-ordered clients, and exercises for high conflict family violence parent groups. In addition, a new assessment protocol will be available as a free download.New to the Second Edition: Includes the latest findings from the Partner Abuse State of Knowledge ProjectPresents most current literature on risk assessment instrumentsProvides new definitions of evidence-based treatment regarding degree of rigor along with outcome data and newest relevant studiesDiscusses promising new group programsIncludes a new assessment tool available as free downloadDescribes several new, evidence-based gender-inclusive approachesOffers comprehensive appendices that reflect recent advances including newassessment forms, a victim safety plan, client workbook guidelines and exercises, resources and programs for court-ordered clients, and exercises for high conflict family violence parent groups
ISBN: 9780826196781Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Gender Power and Violence by
What do the Catholic Church, college sports, Hollywood, prisons, the military, fraternities and politics have in common? All have extraordinarily high rates of sexual and intimate partner violence and child sexual abuse. Sexual and intimate partner violence is part of the landscape that women and children live with. Women and children are subjected to high levels of sexual and intimate partner violence and in the era of #metoo, Gender, Power and Violence provides a nuanced analysis of the ways in which the organizational structure of an institution, like a college campus or Hollywood, can create an environment ripe for sexual and intimate partner violence and even child sexual abuse. Gender, Power, and Violence looks at the problem of sexual and intimate partner violence through cases, observing the role that institutions play in facilitating and perpetuating gender based violence, and provides a more complex understanding about the ways in which institutional structures create an environment that facilitates and perpetuates gender based violence. Angela J. Hattery and Earl Smith touch on current events that have highlighted the pervasiveness of gender based violence across the institutions they interrogate throughout the book, but also in the entertainment industry, the government, and television journalism. Gender, Power, and Violence gives the reader a better understanding of what factors shape who will be perpetrators, who will be victims, and how organizations respond (or not) when sexual or intimate partner violence or child sexual abuse is reported. It also offers recommendations for transforming these institutions so that they are safe for women and children of all genders.
ISBN: 9781538118177Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Sexual Harassment of Women by
Over the last few decades, research, activity, and funding has been devoted to improving the recruitment, retention, and advancement of women in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine. In recent years the diversity of those participating in these fields, particularly the participation of women, has improved and there are significantly more women entering careers and studying science, engineering, and medicine than ever before. However, as women increasingly enter these fields they face biases and barriers and it is not surprising that sexual harassment is one of these barriers. Over thirty years the incidence of sexual harassment in different industries has held steady, yet now more women are in the workforce and in academia, and in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine (as students and faculty) and so more women are experiencing sexual harassment as they work and learn. Over the last several years, revelations of the sexual harassment experienced by women in the workplace and in academic settings have raised urgent questions about the specific impact of this discriminatory behavior on women and the extent to which it is limiting their careers. Sexual Harassment of Women explores the influence of sexual harassment in academia on the career advancement of women in the scientific, technical, and medical workforce. This report reviews the research on the extent to which women in the fields of science, engineering, and medicine are victimized by sexual harassment and examines the existing information on the extent to which sexual harassment in academia negatively impacts the recruitment, retention, and advancement of women pursuing scientific, engineering, technical, and medical careers. It also identifies and analyzes the policies, strategies and practices that have been the most successful in preventing and addressing sexual harassment in these settings.
ISBN: 9780309470872Publication Date: 2018-09-01- Not on the Radar: Sexual Assault of College Students with Disabilities byPublication Date: 2018-01-30
Rape Is Rape by
"More than half of women and girls lie about rape . . ." "Feminists exaggerate rape prevalence to demonize men and raise money for their cause . . ." "Girls cry 'rape' when it's nothing more than regret over bad sex . . ." Such emotionally charged false accusations have convinced much of the general public and the media that acquaintance rape is a figment of the imagination. As author Jody Raphael reveals in Rape Is Rape , the more acquaintance rape is reported and taken seriously by prosecutors, judges, and juries, the louder the clamor of rape denial becomes. Through firsthand interviews with victims, medical and judicial records, social media analysis, and statistics from government agencies, Rape Is Rape exposes the tactics used by the deniers, a group that includes conservatives and right-wing Christians as well as some controversial feminists. The personal stories of young acquaintance rape victims whom Raphael interviewed demonstrate how assaults on their credibility, buttressed by claims of low prevalence, prevent many from holding their rapists accountable, enabling them to rape others with impunity. Rape Is Rape is an exposé of those using rape denial to further their political agendas, and it is a call to action to protect the rights of women and girls, making it safe for victims to come forward, and end the acquaintance rape crisis. A resources section is included for those seeking help, advice, or hoping to get involved.
ISBN: 9781613744796Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Responding to Intimate Partner Violence and Sexual Violence Against Women by
These guidelines aim to provide advice to health-care providers on the appropriate responses to IPV and sexual violence against women including clinical interventions and emotional support. They also seek to raise awareness of violence against women among health-care providers and policy-makers to better understand the need for an appropriate health sector response to violence against women. The guidelines are based on systematic reviews of the evidence on identification and clinical care for intimate partner violence clinical care for sexual assault training for intimate partner violence and sexual assault as well as policy and programmatic approaches to delivering services. They provide standards that can act as the basis for national guidelines and for integrating these issues into health-care provider education as well as help health-care providers be better informed about the care of women experiencing sexual assault and intimate partner violence. The guidelines are aimed at health-care providers because they are in a unique position to address the health and psychosocial needs of women who have experienced violence. Health professionals can provide assistance by facilitating disclosure offering support and referral gathering forensic evidence particularly in cases of sexual violence or by providing the appropriate medical services and follow-up care. The guidelines aim to supply health-care providers with evidence-based guidance on offering an appropriate response including clinical interventions and emotional support to women suffering from IPV and sexual violence. They also seek to make health-care providers and policy-makers more aware of violence against women to encourage an evidence-informed health-sector response and improve capacity building of health-care providers and other members of multi disciplinary teams. They should also prove useful to those responsible for developing training curricula in medicine nursing and public health. They also include a service-delivery and programme-guidance component aimed at those responsible for developing funding and implementing programmes to address violence against women. The level of resources available including other support services will need to be taken into account when implementing the recommendations. WHO will partner with Ministries of Health NGOs and sister UN agencies to disseminate these guidelines and support their adaptation and implementation in member countries.
ISBN: 9789240691797Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Talking about Sexual Assault by
Sexual assault is a traumatic experience for any woman. Furthermore, many victims who tell others about their assault must endure a 'second assault' in the form of negative reactions, such as victim blaming and disbelief. One third to two thirds of victims may experience such reactions, which have negative mental and physical health effects on the victims. This book provides a comprehensive look at women's rape disclosure, addressing such issues as why, how often, and to whom women disclose their sexual assault; how people respond to disclosures; what factors influence how they respond to disclosures; and how these responses affect survivors. With an ecological approach, the book considers the social context of rape, arguing that negative social reactions emanate from broader social norms and attitudes about rape. Multiple perspectives are considered, including those of survivors, informal support providers (family, friends, and intimate partners), and formal support providers (therapists, victim advocates, and others). Finally, recommendations for research, treatment, and intervention are provided. Powerful, insightful, and provocative, this book is essential reading for everyone who works with sexual assault victims, including therapists, health care workers, victim advocates, rape researchers, policy makers, and students in any of these fields.
ISBN: 9781433807411Publication Date: 2010-03-15
Stopping Rape by
Available Open Access under CC-BY-NC licence. The need to stop rape is pressing and, since it is the outcome of a wide range of practices and institutions in society, so too must the policies be to stop it This important book offers a comprehensive guide to the international policies developed to stop rape , together with case study examples on how they work. The book engages with the law and criminal justice system, health services, specialised services for victim-survivors, educational and cultural interventions, as well as how they can best be coordinated. It is informed by theory and evidence drawn from scholarship and practice from around the world. The book will be of interest to a global readership of students, practitioners and policy makers as well as anyone who wants to know how rape can be stopped.
ISBN: 9781447351566Publication Date: 2015-07-22
