Athletic Training: E-Books and Journals
Resources for faculty,staff, and students in this field
About UI Library Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are either freely available or are available through subscriptions. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with your Hawk ID and password.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a resource to add, please contact the guide owner.
Sports Medicine E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
- Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and MetabolismE access from 2006
- Athletic Training and Sports Health Care: The Journal for the Practicing ClinicianNot available online -- use interlibrary loan to request articles
- International Journal of Athletic Therapy and TrainingNot available online -- use interlibrary loan to request articles
- Journal of Athletic TrainingE access from 1992
- Journal of Sport RehabilitationE access from 1992
- Journal of Sports Medicine and Allied Health SciencesE access from 2015
Psychology and Sport E-Books
APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Volume 1 by
The 2-volume APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology presents new areas of research and links theory with emerging practice to reflect the latest developments in this constantly changing field. The 77 chapters provide extensive coverage of conceptual frameworks and models, empirical findings, and practical interventions. Additionally, many chapters discuss topics not addressed in other publications, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sleep disorders, life-span engagement in sport and physical activity, and professional ethics and governance.
ISBN: 1433830418Publication Date: 2019
APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Volume 2 by
The 2-volume APA Handbook of Sport and Exercise Psychology presents new areas of research and links theory with emerging practice to reflect the latest developments in this constantly changing field. The 77 chapters provide extensive coverage of conceptual frameworks and models, empirical findings, and practical interventions. Additionally, many chapters discuss topics not addressed in other publications, such as attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, sleep disorders, life-span engagement in sport and physical activity, and professional ethics and governance.
ISBN: 9781433830419Publication Date: 2019
Sports, Study, or Sleep: Understanding the Student-Athlete's College Experience by
This book challenges existing literature on student-athletes and examines the obstacles student-athletes face with respect to academic achievement in college. Blum includes excerpts from in-depth, semi-structured interviews with US student-athletes, coaches, academic advisors, and learning specialists to provide insights on how student-athletes define success academically, athletically, and professionally. He also identifies the challenges student-athletes face inside and outside of the classroom and how they can be helped in achieving academic success.
ISBN: 9783030613259Publication Date: 2020
Sports Medicine E-Books
Adaptive Sports Medicine by
Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this unique book provides a comprehensive review of the unique aspects of adaptive sports medicine and adaptive athletes who are increasingly active and prominent, not only individually and in local leagues and organizations but also in larger settings like the Paralympics and Warrior Games. This book is divided into four thematic sections. Section one covers the history and natural course of the care, policies, and laws for persons with disabilities, as well as the biomechanics and technology of wheelchair sports and adaptive sports prostheses. The medical considerations of the adaptive athlete comprise section two, including epidemiology, emergent care, and surgical and rehabilitative considerations. Section three is the largest section, discussing considerations for specific adaptive sports, including adaptive running, cycling, water sports, throwing sports, wheelchair basketball, softball and rugby, as wellas combative and extreme sports. Selected topics, including event planning, advocacy and controversies such as doping, are covered in section four. Chapters new to this edition include approaches to concussions and sports-related considerations for specific populations like children and adolescents, active duty military and veterans. A comprehensive yet practical text, Adaptive Sports Medicine 2nd Edition remains the go-to resource for this active population and is an invaluable reference for any sports medicine or primary medicine practitioner.
ISBN: 9783031442841Publication Date: 2024, 2nd ed.
Advances in Human Factors in Sports, Injury Prevention and Outdoor Recreation by
Effect of rater expertise on subjective agility assessment -- Effectiveness of avoiding head collision of a head with an object in motion – virtual reality technology in diagnostic and training from perspective of prophylactic of body injuries -- Methodology for the assessment of clothing and individual equipment (CIE) -- Dynamic model of athlete's emotions based on wearable devices.
ISBN: 9783319608228Publication Date: 2018
Hand and Wrist Injuries in Combat Sports: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment by
1 Hand and Wrist Injury in Kick Boxing -- 2 Peripheral Nerve Compression in Combat Sport -- 3 PIP Joint Injuries in Combat Sport -- 4 Hand Injury in Kendo -- 5 Hand and Wrist Injuries in Karate -- 6 Grip Injuries in Judo: Finger Flexor Tendon Avulsion -- 7 1st CMC j Articular Fractures -- 8 Hand Injury in MMA -- 9 Judo Fingers Injury -- 10 Degenerative Changing in Jiu-Jitsu Fighter Digits -- 11 Hand CMCJ Instability in Combat Sports -- 12 MCP Arthroscopy in Sport -- 13 Hand and Wrist Injury in Aikido -- 14 Injured Athlete Recovery Post-rehab -- 15 Psychological aspects of Contact Sport: from Injury to the Match -- 16 The Management of Carpal Scaphoid Fractures and Non-Unions and the Role of Capacitive Systems -- 17 Rehabilitation in the Athletes -- 18 New Trends in Neuromodulation for the Management of Peripheral Neuropathic Pain in Athletes.
ISBN: 9783319529028Publication Date: 2018
Heat Stress in Sport and Exercise: Thermophysiology of Health and Performance by
Section I -The physiology of heat stress: 1 Basics of thermoregulation -- 2 Cardiovascular function in the heat -- 3 Central nervous system function in the heat -- 4 Skeletal muscle function in the heat -- Section II- Illnesses and countermeasures: 5 Exertional heat illness -- 6 Hydration.-7 Cooling.-8 Heat acclimation. Section III- Application to sport: 9 Football/soccer, AFL and Rugby -- 10 American football -- 11 Tennis -- 12 Athletics – marathon -- 13 Motor sports -- 14 Cycling -- 15 Beach volleyball -- 16 Open water -- 17 Triathlon.
ISBN: 9783319935157Publication Date: 2019
Imaging of Orthopedic Sports Injuries by
This book, now in a revised and updated second edition, provides a review of imaging abnormalities in orthopedic sports injuries. The first part of the book includes background information on relevant basic science and general imaging principles in sports traumatology, while the second part discusses the topography of various sports injuries. Each chapter highlights the merits of different imaging techniques, focusing on a specific clinical problem. The third part then examines natural history and monitoring.
ISBN: 9783030753627Publication Date: 2021, 2nd ed.
Netter's Sports Medicine by
"With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter’s Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification"-
ISBN: 0323796702Publication Date: 2023, 3rd ed.
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy by
For clinical professionals or students who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. This Professional hardcover edition includes access to a downloadable imagebank for personal use. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms. Includes image bank license of full set of Plates and bonus plates from prior editions which allows presentation sharing in groups of 10 or fewer as well as use in scientific poster presentations by active students. Complete Registered User License and institutional licensing information available at NetterReference.com. Also available, alternative versions of the 8th Edition: . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: A Systems Approach-paperback+eBook. Same content as the classic regional approach, but organized by organ systems. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach-paperback + eBook. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach with Latin terminology-paperback +eBook. All options contain the same table information and same 550+ illustrated plates painted by clinician artists, Frank H. Netter, MD, and Carlos Machado, MD.
ISBN: 9780323793735Publication Date: 2022, 8th ed.
Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by
Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323544733Publication Date: 2019, 5th ed.
Platelet Rich Plasma in Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine by
This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of platelet rich plasmas (PRPs) in the field of regenerative medicine. The book begins with an overview of the basic science behind PRP, describing the role of platelets and growth factors followed by the most important biological effects expected from the use of PRPs. Platelet Rich Plasma in Orthopaedics, Sports Medicine and Maxillofacial surgery includes numerous contributions detailing the rapidly growing field of PRPs in clinical practice. From the origins in oral and maxillofacial surgery, to the latest advances in orthopaedics and sports medicine including the use of Platelet Rich Growth Factors (PRGF) in muscle, bone, tendon, ligament and nerve injuries among others. The volume concludes with contributions from experts in biology, orthopaedics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, where the convergence of expertise is leading to unprecedented insights into how to minutely control the in vivo fate and function of PRGF. This book will provide a useful resource for physicians and researchers interested in the rapidly changing field of biomedicine and learning more about this growing area of treatment.
ISBN: 9783319637303Publication Date: 2018
Proprioception in Orthopaedics, Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation by
This book is a comprehensive guide to proprioceptive rehabilitation after orthopaedic and sports surgery. In addition, it equips readers with a thorough understanding of the neurophysiology and assessment of proprioception and clearly explains the relationships between surgical procedures, injuries, and anatomy and proprioception. Proprioception is still an unclear topic for most clinicians and scientists, and this is the first book specifically on proprioception in the context of orthopaedics and sports injuries, surgery, and rehabilitation. After an opening section describing key basic knowledge, individual chapters discuss proprioception after injuries and surgery to different parts of the body and explain the role of proprioceptive training in optimal rehabilitation. Among other topics addressed are proprioception after soft tissue regenerative treatment and the relation between osteoarthritis and proprioception. The book includes numerous descriptions of exercises, photographs, and tables documenting rehabilitation strategies. It will be of value for all students, clinicians, and academicians with an interest in the subject.
ISBN: 9783319666396Publication Date: 2018
Routledge Handbook of Strength and Conditioning by
Drawing on the latest scientific research, this handbook introduces the essentials of sport-specific strength and conditioning programme design for over 30 different sports. Enhanced by extensive illustrations and contributions from more than 70 world-leading experts, its chapters present evidence-based best practice for sports including football, rugby, tennis, hockey, basketball, rowing, boxing, golf, swimming, cycling and weightlifting, as well as a variety of wheelchair sports. Every chapter introduces the fundamental requirements of a particular sport - such as the physiological and biomechanical demands on the athlete - and describes a sport-specific fitness testing battery and exercise programme. Additional chapters cover the adaptation of programme design for special populations, including female athletes, young athletes and athletes with a disability. Drawing on the experiences of Olympic and Paralympic coaches and trainers, it offers original insights and practical advice from practitioners working at the highest level. Innovative, comprehensive and truly international in scope, the Routledge Handbook of Strength and Conditioning is vital reading for all strength and conditioning students and an invaluable reference for strength and conditioning coaches and trainers.
ISBN: 9781134879649Publication Date: 2018
Sports Injuries of the Elbow by
This book provides a concise guide to the diagnosis, investigations, surgical principles and post-operative rehabilitation to sports injuries of the elbow. It features guidance on best practice and information on the appropriate use of the latest diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. Injuries seen in athletes who participate in overhead and contact sports are discussed along with a range of other injury types. Relevant concepts in applied biomechanics and information on sport-specific rehabilitation are also covered enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to develop appropriate treatment plans tailored to individual needs. Sports Injuries of the Elbow comprehensively covers the diagnosis and treatment of patients with elbow injuries acquired during sporting activities, and is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals seeking an up-to-date reference on how to diagnose and treat a range of sports injuries that affect the elbow.
ISBN: 9783030523787Publication Date: 2020
Sports Injuries of the Foot and Ankle: A Focus on Advanced Surgical Techniques by
Ligament Injuries: Acute Ligamentous injuries in the ankle -- Chronic Ankle Instability -- Syndesmosis Injuries -- Subtalar Joint Instability -- Lisfranc Complex Injuries. Bone and Joint Injuries: Ankle Fractures -- The role of arthroscopy in ankle fractures -- Osteochondral Lesions of the Talus -- Jones Fractures -- Anterior Ankle Impingement Syndromes -- Posterior Impingement and Os Trigonum -- Arthritis of the Foot and Ankle -- Hallux Rigidus -- Hallux Valgus -- Minimally Invasive Techniques to correct alignment -- Advanced Techniques in Arthroscopy of the foot. Tendons and Biology: Achilles Ruptures -- Peroneal Tendon Injuries -- Insertional Achilles Tendinopathy -- Non-insertional Achilles Tendinopathy -- Biologics in the Foot and Ankle -- Cartilage Techniques for osteochondral lesions of the talus. Special Considerations: Outcome -- Outcomes Assessment for the Athlete -- Advances in Rehabilitation Techniques -- Footwear and Orthotics for the Athlete -- Special Athlete Considerations.
ISBN: 9783662587041Publication Date: 2019
Sports Injuries of the Hand and Wrist by
Contents: Mallet finger injuries -- Flexor digitorum profundus avulsion injuries -- Fractures and dislocations of the proximal interphalangeal joint -- Phalangeal fractures in the athlete -- Climber’s pulley injuries -- Metacarpal fractures in the athlete -- Thumb fractures -- Hand injuries in the elite boxer -- Scaphoid fractures -- Carpal fractures (excluding scaphoid) -- Scapholunate ligament injuries -- Injuries to the triangular fibrocartilage complex -- Injuries to the extensor carpi ulnaris and its investments in the athlete -- Chronic exertional compartment syndrome of the forearm.
ISBN: 9783030021344Publication Date: 2019
Sports Injuries of the Shoulder by
This book provides a practical guide detailing the aetiology, diagnosis, relevant pathology, management principles, and outcomes of a variety of injuries to the shoulder including rotator cuff disorders, glenoid bone loss, and pectoralis major ruptures in both elite and non-elite athletes. Each chapter features clinical pearls and a question and answer section to emphasize key points. Sports Injuries of the Shoulder is an essential book for those seeking an up-to-date resource. It is aimed at sports doctors and musculoskeletal doctors; senior orthopedic trainees with an interest in upper limb and those preparing for the FRCSOrth exam and similar international exams, as well as surgeons with a particular interest in shoulder conditions.
ISBN: 9783030230289Publication Date: 2019
Upper Extremity Injuries in Young Athletes by
This unique book focuses exclusively on upper extremity injuries in the young athlete, including the latest evidence on current diagnostic and treatment strategies. Comprised of the most up-to-date information in the field, much of which is not in the existing literature, it proceeds anatomically from the shoulder down, covering the diagnosis and management of conditions of bones, muscles, ligaments and nerves. Shoulder injuries in the adolescent footballer, thrower and swimmer are discussed in detail, along with the pitcher's elbow and the wrist of the golfer, gymnast and tennis player. In addition to sports-specific injuries, carpal and common hand and nerve injuries, seen across multiple sports, are likewise described, as is the use of ultrasound in injury diagnosis. Injuries of the shoulder, elbow, wrist, and hand are among the most common in young athletes, and pediatric orthopedic and sports medicine specialists are seeing these injuries of the upper extremity with increasing frequency. Upper Extremity Injuries in Young Athletes will be a valuable resource in evaluating and treating young athletes in order to get them back on the field. .
ISBN: 9783319566511Publication Date: 2019
