Nineteeth Century Music Periodicals: Home
Getting Started
Searching for information about music in the nineteenth century means looking through journals, magazine, newspapers, and other periodical resources. The Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (or RIPM) provides indexed searching of much musical literature from this era. Open access, large-scale digitization projects, such as HathiTrust, provide a great deal of access to the full-text issues. For any articles not available open access or in print at Iowa, Interlibrary Loan can be used to obtain content.
The HathiTrust Nineteenth Century Periodicals collection will be reviewed annually for additions, as will the list of Periodical Literature with links to full-text.
-
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index of primary source materials of more than eighty historical music periodicals in thirteen languages, published primarily in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. To obtain full-text from index citations, use the Nineteenth Century Periodicals Collection in HathiTrust or request articles using Interlibrary Loan.
-
Nineteenth Century Music PeriodicalsThis collection contains over 300 journal issues from nineteenth century music periodicals hosted in HathiTrust
List of Periodical Literature with links to full-text
Access available via HathiTrust or Google Books, unless otherwise noted.
Titles available through other UI Libraries subscription resources are noted with the lock icon - 
.
-
Allgemeine musikalische ZeitungLeipzig : Breitkopf und Härtel, 1798-1865.
-
Allgemeine Wiener Musik-ZeitungWein: 1841-1848
-
The American musical journalNew-York : [James Dunn, 1834-1835].
-
Berliner allgemeine musikalische ZeitungEditor: A. B. Marx. 1824-1830
-
Berlinische musikalische Zeitung1805-1806
-
Boston Musical GazetteBoston : Otis, Broaders & Co., [1838-1839]
-
Boston Musical ReviewBoston, Mass. : Otis, Broaders and Co. 1845
Digital Access: American Periodicals Series -
The British minstrel, and musical and literary miscellanyGlasgow : W. Hamilton [etc.], 1843-1845.
-
Caecilia: Algemeen Muzikaal Tijdschrift van NederlandMainz : B. Schott Söhne, 1824-1848.
-
Des critischen Musicus an der Spree erster BandBerlin by Haude & Spener from Mar. 4, 1749 to Feb. 17, 1750.
-
Dwight's Journal of MusicVols. 1-12 printed by E. L. Balch; v. 13-38 published by O. Ditson, 1852-1881
-
The English Musical Gazette; or, Monthly IntelligencerLondon, 1819
Access provided by New York Public Library -
The EuterpeiadNew-York : [Geo. W. Bleecker, 1830-1831]
-
The Euterpeiad: or Musical intelligencerBoston: Thomas Badger, 1820-1823
-
Gazette musicale de ParisParis : Gazette musicale de Paris, 1834-1880
v. 2-5, 8-10, 12-19, 22-25, 31-38 -
Gazzetta musicale di MilanoMilano : G. Ricordi, 1842-1902.
Access provided by Archivio Storico Ricordi -
The HarmoniconLondon, W. Pinnock [etc.] 1823-33.
-
Kritische Briefe über die TonkunstFriedrich Wilhelm Marpurg, editor.
1760-1763 -
La Iberia Musical y LiterariaMadrid : [s.n.], 1842-1845.
-
Le Diapason. Revue musicale de BruxellesBureaux : B. Schott, 1850-1852
Available from the BnF -
Le PianisteParis: M. H. Lemoine, 1833-1835
-
L’Italia musicaleMilano, F. Lucca, 1847-1859.
-
The Message BirdNew-York : M.T. Brockelbank, [1849-1851]
1850-51 -
The Musical ExaminerWessel and Stapleton, 1842-44
Digital Access: British Periodicals Collection II -
The Musical MagazineEdited by T. Hastings. 1835-1837
Digital Access: American Historical Periodicals -
The Musical Magazine (Boston, 1839-1842)Boston : [Otis, Broaders and Co., 1839-1842].
-
The Musical Magazine (NY, 1835-1837)New York: Ezra Collier, 1835-37.
Access provided by IMSLP -
The Musical magazine, review and register1809-1810; includes sheet music
Access provided by New York Public Library -
Musical Reporter[Boston, Mass. : s.n.], 1841.
-
The Musical Review and Record of Musical Science, Literature, and IntelligenceNew York, 1838-1839
Digital Access: American Historical Periodicals -
The Musical TimesLondon : Orpheus, etc.
1845-present
Digital Access: multiple platforms, dependent on date; mostly JSTOR -
The Musical WorldNovello, James Biddlecombe, 1836-1891
Digital Access: British Periodicals Collection -
The Musical WorldN.Y. [i.e. New York : R.S. Willis, 1858-1860]
Continuation of The Musical World and New York Musical TImes/The Musical World and Times -
The Musical World and New York Musical Times; The Musical World and TimesNew York, Musical world [etc.]
1850-1854 -
Musikalische Real-ZeitungSpeier Expedition dieser Zeitung Wien Hoffmeister, 1788-1790
-
Musikalisches KunstmagazinChronologisches Verzeichnis der öffentlich im Druck und Kupferstich erschienenen musikalischen Werke von Johann Friederich Reichardt, 1781-1791
-
Nederlandsch Muzikaal TijdschriftUtrecht: Bosch.
1842-1844 (missing 1839-40, 1845-48) -
Neue Zeitschrift für Musik (Leipzig, 1834-1868)Founded and for some years edited by Robert A. Schumann.
Organ of the Allgemeiner Deutscher Musikverein, Jan. 1883-May 1892 (and Jan. 1883-Mar. 1887 of the Beethoven-Stiftung).
1834-
CONTINUE ADDING ISSUES STILL MISSING -
Niederrheinische Musik-Zeitung für Kunstfreunde und KünstlerAvailable from the Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek
-
Ny tidning för musikLink is to first volume, remainder are available through searching the digital library
Available from the Digitale Bibliothek/Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum -
Pamietnik Muzyczny WarszawskiWarsaw: J. Cichocki. 1835-6
Available from CRISPA -
The Quarterly Musical Magazine and ReviewLondon: Sold by Baldwin, Craddock, and Joy, 1818-1828
-
Revue et Gazette musicale de Paris1835-1880
Available from the ONB -
Revue MusicaleParis, F. J. Fétis, 1827-1835
-
Semanario Musicalmpr. Julio Belin i Ca., 1852
Available from Biblioteco Nacional de Chile -
Strenna Teatrale EuropeaMilano, 1838-47
v. 1, 3, 6, 8-10 -
Studien für Tonkünstler und MusikfreundeBerlin, 1792-1793
-
Tygodnik MuzycznyOnly issues with sheet music supplement are listed.
Available from IMSLP -
Wiener Allgemeine Musik-ZeitungWien, A. Strauss [etc.]
Title varies: 1841-44, Allgemeine Wiener Musik-Zeitung.
1841-1848 -
Wiener allgemeine musikalische ZeitungWien : Tendlers Buchhandlung, 1813.
-
Wöchentliche Nachrichten und Anmerkungen die Musik betreffendLeipzig Verl. der Zeitungs-Expedition, 1766-1769
Music Librarian
Related Databases
-
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowUse to search periodicals covering many subjects, as well as other objects including manuscripts, scrapbooks, maps, pamphlets, and more.
-
19th Century British Newspapers, (aka British Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
-
British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCovers literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowConsists of over 180,000 titles of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference.
-
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
UI access includes Parts I - XII. -
Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Forthcoming are African, European, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers. Can be cross-searched with collection: America's historical newspapers. Parts I & II.
-
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
-
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window19th century magazine intended to "entertain and educate" women of America. Early issues include biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, fashion, dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, and piano forte sheet music. Later issues contain book reviews and works by such 19th century authors as Poe, Hawthorne, Longfellow and Stowe. Illustrations.