Hardin Library
Quick Links
- PubMed
- IDIS 4.0 Drug Database
- COP Drug Information Resources
- Pharmaceutical Sciences & Experimental Therapeutics Subject Guide
- Chemistry LibGuide
- NLM Citation Style
- RefWorks
- AccessPharmacy
- STAT!Ref
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary
- Iowa COP iOS App
- College of Pharmacy (COP)
- American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP)
- ICON
- CONSORT Statement
Are we missing something?
Know of a great resource that is not on this list? Let us know!
Don't Know Where to Start Your Drug Information Search?
Table 3-2 in Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists (Malone) can be a good start point. It lists resources for specific categories of drug information requests.
Drug Monographs
NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) Drug Information via Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated)Copy copy is also available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library.
Call number RS125 .A48 - Clinical Pharmacology (COP-Affiliated)
- Facts and Comparisons eAnswers (COP-Affiliated)Drug Facts and Comparisons is available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RM300 .F28
- Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated)
- Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Lexi-Comp) (COP-Affiliated)This link takes you directly to Martindale in Lexi-Comp. When you are on Lexi-Comp homepage, click the "More Clinical Tools" link on the top right corner and "Indexes".
Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. - Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference (via Micromedex)Martindale is also included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.3 .M4
- AccessMedicine Drug Index
- DrugPoints SystemDrugPoints System provides summarized drug information.
- MD Consult
MD Consult drug information is provided by Gold Standard (Clinical Pharmacology). Click "Drugs" link on the top blue banner. The MD Consult drug interface allows you to browse drugs by name of drug, indication, contraindication and adverse reactions. - Micromedex
Micromedex’s Academic Program subscription is available when one is using a computer physically located in the COP building [PHAR]. More about this program at http://www.micromedex.com/products/academics/ - Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Via Micromedex)PDR is included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library.
- USP-NF OnlineThe USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
Click on Log On to begin. - The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) (print copy)Available at the Reserve section in Hardin Library. Call number RS141.2 .P5
- Epocrates Online
Free but registration is required. Provides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. Its mobile version is Epocrates Rx. Epocrates Essentials is only free to medical students. Comparison table: http://www.epocrates.com/products/comparison_table - GlobalRph
- NLM Drug Information PortalThis is a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. It allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once including PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ChemIDplus, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus. Its mobile site can be accessed at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/m.drugportal/
Tablet/Capsule Identification
This list is compiled by Vern Duba at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
NOTE: Resources designated as COP-Affiliated are only available to faculty, staff, and students currently affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- Clinical Pharmacology (COP-Affiliated)Click on “Go to Drug Identifier” icon after the search box on the top and enter known physical description information.
- Facts and Comparisons eAnswers (COP-Affiliated)Click on “Drug Identifier” from the navigation bar on the left and enter known physical description information.
- Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated)Click on “Drug ID” tab on the top and enter known physical description information.
- Micromedex
Click on "Drug Identification" above the main search box. - DailyMed Product Identification SystemIdentify by imprint, shape, color, size and scoring (includes pictures and drug labels),
- Drugs.comClick on “Pill Identifier" tab on the top; Read and agree to the disclaimer enter known physical description information.
- FDA Center for Drug Evaluation & Research (CDER) Division of Drug Information (DDI)FDA Center for Drug Evaluation & Research (CDER), Division of Drug Information (DDI) staff can identify drugs for you based on physical appearance (color, shape, size, etc.) and markings. E-mail DDI your drug description at druginfo@cder.fda.gov. FDA DDI staff will identify drugs for you as soon as possible. However, please note that this is not an emergency service.
You can call the Poison Control Center at any time and get information about your medicine: 1-800-222-1222. - National Library of Medicine (NLM) PillBox (beta)Identify by imprint, shape, color, size and scoring (includes pictures).
- Rxlist.comClick on “Pill Identifier" tab on the top and enter known physical description information.
Drug Labels/Package Inserts
- Drugs@FDAAllows you to search for information on FDA approved drug and therapeutic biological products.
- DailyMed (NLM)Provided by National Library of Medicine. Contains most recent FDA approved pharmaceutical labels (package inserts).
- Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Micromedex)PDR is included within the drug information in Micromedex. Print copy of PDR is also available at Hardin Library.
- Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)The CDER website contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals.
Xiaomei Gu |
Contact Info Hardin Library for the Health Sciences Phone: 319-335-9731 Email: xiaomei-gu@uiowa.edu Fax: 319-353-3752 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Get More Help
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk
Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu

Submit

Loading...
