This is the "Home" page of the "International News -- Sources and Analysis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International News -- Sources and Analysis  

International News -- Sources and Analysis
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/intl-news Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mubarak shuts down Internet! Egypt will shut down Mubarak!

 

Author: Carlos Latuff

 

Getting Started

The University of Iowa Libraries homepage is your gateway to library resources including the InfoHawk Catalog, journal article databases, electronic journals and books, reference materials, and many more web-based resources.

To access peer-reviewed journal literature, do keyword searches in the subject databases listed under the Periodical Literature tabs above. These resources are especially appropriate for more focused searches, for which you will need flexible and more finely-grained parameters.

Google Scholar provides a less focused, but simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:FullText" link next to each citation in your results list for InfoLink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more.

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) produces analytical reports on topics of interest to Congress. Unfortunately, they do not maintain a public website with these reports. Below are some free web sites that collect CRS reports:

International News Databases

  • Access World News  Icon
    Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
  • Factiva  Icon  Icon
    Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
  • World News Connection  Icon
    WNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.

Key Databases

  • Scopus  Icon
    Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
  • ABI/INFORM Global  Icon  Icon
    Search nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984- .
  • Historical Abstracts  Icon  Icon
    An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records, Historical Abstracts is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature.
  • PAIS International  Icon
    PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. PAIS International contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 120 countries are included.
  • PolicyFile  Icon
    The PolicyFile service regularly reviews the websites of think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups in an effort to identify and index gray literature.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Icon
    This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Bibliographer for African, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Studies

Profile Image
Edward A. Miner, PhD

Country Information & Analysis

  • Europa World Plus  Icon
    Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
  • CountryWatch.com: Website to the world  Icon
    Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world, for educational purposes and for public and private sector organizations with global operations and interests. Includes Country ReviewsTM and Country WireTM.
  • Political Risk Yearbook  Icon
    PRS Country Reports forecast the risk of doing business in 100 countries. PRS updates these 100 reports as political events dictate in each country. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip