- Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite is a powerful database that indexes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
- Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
- BBC College of Journalism
Includes 1,700 content pages, hundreds of videos, audio clips, discussion pages, and interactive modules covering every aspect of TV, radio, and online journalism. Much of the material features BBC TV reporters, anchors, and hosts known around the world.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 380 journals.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
- ISI Web of Knowledge
A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
- JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides full-text searchable access to back issues of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR contains ONLY back issues and does NOT include the most recent 3-5 years.
- LexisNexis Academic
The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available.
- LexisNexis Congressional
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. PDF texts of all documents indexed and abstracted in ASI from 2003 forward.
The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is world
- SAGE eReference
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including Communication and Media Studies and many other subject areas.
- SimplyMap (USE your UI email address as username)
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers for sociology and related fields. 1963-current.
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.