Skip to main content
print page banner

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

NIH Public Access Policy: Manage Your Publications

The NIH Public Access Policy ensures that the public has access to the published results of NIH funded research.

Using NCBI's My Bibliography to Manage Your Publications

Beginning July 23, 2010, PIs will need to use the NCBI My Bibliography tool to track publications and related grants, rather than entering them manually through eRA Commons. My Bibliography is part of the My NCBI toolbox in PubMed. Current eRA Commons users can link their eRA Commons account to My Bibliography.

Beginning October 22, 2010, eRA Commons will no longer display citations manually entered. By that date, all citations must be added to My Bilbliography so that they will continue to appear in eRA Commons.

Step-by-step instructions for using My Bibliography can be found here.

My Bibliography Highlights

  • To go directly to My Bibliography through PubMed, click on My NCBI in the upper right corner, and then log into My NCBI using your eRA log-in (under Sign in via Partner Organization).  If you do not have My NCBI account, you will be prompted to create one.  (If you save searches or create alerts in PubMed, you already have a My NCBI account; use that log-in to assure that all your My NCBI activities are under one account.)
  • Articles listed in PubMed can easily be added to My Bibliography by searching for author, title, publication date, journal, grant number, and PMID. Publications not in PubMed can be added manually. (Click the plus icon next to Actions to add citation in either manner.)
  • My Bibliography allows you to track the Public Acces Policy compliance status of your articles.  When you are signed in with your eRA Commons username, you will see a dollar sign ($) icon next to View, in the area above your bibliography.  Clicking it will show you the compliance status of each article.  You will be able to associate missing grants with articles, when necessary.

For more information, please see the step-by-step instructions, which are under Manage Your Professional Bilbliography.

 

 

Library Liaison

Janna Lawrence's picture
Janna Lawrence
I am Deputy Director of Hardin Library and also serve as Hardin's collection management librarian. Other areas of interest include scholarly communication and evidence-based practice.
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319-335-9870