Communication Sciences & Disorders resources: Speech Language Pathology Resources
Speech Pathology & Audiology
About Speech Language Pathology Resources
All of the E books listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog, Infohawk +
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Finding More Books and Journals
In order to find books and journal titles in the UI Libraries collection, you can use the Infohawk+ Catalog.
Speech Pathology Journals
UI Libraries has current subscription in print or electronic format to all listed journals; list contains active journals only.
All journals listed are peer-reviewed, unless noted. Hover over titles for description and for detail on holdings. Select link to access full text or record.
e Communication Science
- e Communication ScienceA collection of about 30 e books, 50 case presentations, and a large collection of video clips and images.
Speech Language Pathology E Books
Atlas of Neuroanatomy for Communication Science and Disorders by ISBN: 9781626238763Publication Date: 2018
Dysphagia Evaluation and Treatment From the Perspective of Rehabilitation Medicine by
This book presents a comprehensive approach to treating dysphagia that has been successfully applied in actual rehabilitation settings. Its main purposes are firstly to equip readers with a strong conceptual understanding of swallowing evaluation and treatment, secondly to provide guidance on the procedure of practical comprehensive dysphagia rehabilitation in real-world settings, and thirdly to update readers on the latest diagnostic and treatment technologies. To do so, it employs the concept of swallowing rehabilitation pioneered at Fujita Health University Rehabilitation. The book is divided into 4 major sections, the first of which introduces readers to the general aspects and the principle of deglutition. In turn, Part II offers clinical approaches to both non-instrumental and instrumental evaluation of swallowing. Part III addresses treatment options in swallowing rehabilitation, especially exercises based on motor learning. Lastly, Part IV highlights three clinical cases demonstrating clinical approaches in dysphagic patients. Readers will find this text useful both as an initial guide and a reference work for assisting clinicians, allowing them to further expand swallowing assessment and treatment, and facilitating the development of swallowing rehabilitation in real-world settings in education and rehabilitation.
ISBN: 9789811050329Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Communications Disorders by
The domain of Communication Disorders has grown exponentially in the last two decades and has come to encompass much more than audiology, speech impediments and early language impairment. The realization that most developmental and learning disorders are language-based or language-related has brought insights from theoretical and empirical linguistics and its clinical applications to the forefront of Communication Disorders science. The current handbook takes an integrated psycholinguistic, neurolinguistic, and sociolinguistic perspective on Communication Disorders by targeting the interface between language and cognition as the context for understanding disrupted abilities and behaviors and providing solutions for treatment and therapy. Researchers and practitioners will be able to find in this handbook state-of-the-art information on typical and atypical development of language and communication (dis)abilities across the human lifespan from infancy to the aging brain, covering all major clinical disorders and conditions in various social and communicative contexts, such as spoken and written language and discourse, literacy issues, bilingualism, and socio-economic status.
ISBN: 9781614516859Publication Date: 2018
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders by
An authoritative overview of language and speech disorders, featuring new and updated chapters written by leading specialists from across the field The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, provides timely and authoritative coverage of current issues, foundational principles, and new research directions within the study of communication disorders. Building upon the reputation of the landmark first edition, this volume offers an exceptionally broad and in-depth survey of the field, presenting original chapters by internationally recognized specialists that examine an array of language, speech, and cognitive disorders and discuss the most crucial aspects of this evolving discipline while providing practical information on analytical methods and assessment. Now in its second edition, the Handbook features extensively revised and refocused content throughout, reflecting the latest advances in the field. Original and updated chapters explore diverse topics including literacy and literacy impairments, patterns of normal and disordered language development, hearing impairment and cochlear implants, language acquisition and language delay, dementia, dysarthria, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, and many others. This acclaimed single-volume reference resource: Provides 26 original chapters which describe the latest in new research and which indicate future research directions Covers new developments in research since the original publication of the first edition Features in-depth coverage of the major disorders of language and speech, including new insights on perception, hearing impairment, literacy, and genetic syndromes Includes a series of foundational chapters covering a variety of important general principles, including labelling, diversity, intelligibility, assessment, and intervention The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, is essential reading for researchers, scholars, and students in speech and language pathology, speech, language and hearing sciences, and clinical llinguistics, as well as active practitioners and clinicians.
ISBN: 9781119606987Publication Date: 2021-03-12
Handbook of treatment planning for children with autism and other neurodevelopmental disorders by
This handbook addresses treatment planning for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and other neurodevelopmental disabilities (NDDs) using a medical home perspective. It examines the medical home model, which has been promoted as the standard of care by the American Academy of Pediatrics since 2002, emphasizing collaboration between patients, families, and providers to optimize care. The handbook addresses treatment planning, including the coordination of the care provided by multiple specialists with a clear, shared vision for maximizing each child’s potential.
ISBN: 9783031061202Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to clinical methods in communication disorders by
Fully updated and revised based on the 2020 ASHA standards and recent AAA standards, the new edition of this bestseller is the core textbook for all students in clinical methods courses—and a reliable reference for practicing SLPs and audiologists. Covering a broad range of disorders and developmental levels, this text sets emerging professionals on the path toward mastering all the fundamentals of practice, from conducting effective assessment and intervention to ensuring that practices are family-centered and culturally inclusive.
ISBN: 1681253798Publication Date: 2020
Medical speech-language pathology: a practitioner's guide by
The updated edition of this classic is essential for all practitioners and advanced students. The editors artfully synthesize the pathology of voice, speech, language, cognitive, and swallowing disorders with practical guidance. Insightful viewpoints and viable solutions are provided for patient management issues including neurological and physical challenges, surgical implications, and medical ethics, in the context of the continuum of health care settings. The underlying causes of communication and swallowing impairments are explored in detail, along with respective treatment modalities. Starting with an overview of key considerations, the latest evidence-based science is presented throughout 22 chapters. Topics include differential diagnosis of adult communication and swallowing disorders, assessment and management approaches, and diagnostic tools such as imaging and endoscopy. New chapters are devoted to: Motor speech disorders Education for medical speech-language pathologists Aphasia Pediatric traumatic brain injury End of life communication and swallowing disorders.
ISBN: 1604063963Publication Date: 2017
Patient and Family-Centered Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Contents: Principles and outcomes of patient- and family-centered care / Carly Meyer, Nerina Scarinci, Caitlin Barr -- Getting ready to be a patient- and family-centered clinician / Caitlin Barr -- Getting the environment ready for patient- and family-centered care / Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer -- Planning a patient- and family-centered approach to service delivery / Carly Meyer, Nerina Scarinci -- Identifying patient and family member needs through assessment / Louise Hickson, Tanya Rose, Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer -- Meeting patient and family member needs through collaborative management planning / Louise Hickson -- Consideration of cultural and linguistic diversity in patient- and family-centered care / Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer, Leanne Sorbello.
ISBN: 1626239207Publication Date: 2019Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology by Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology: How to Write, Talk, and Act Like a Clinician, Fourth Edition, the authors introduce student clinicians to the various types of written and verbal communication they will encounter across three different clinical settings: university clinics, medical settings, and public schools. The text is written in a student-friendly manner, with appendices that provide examples of diagnostic and treatment reports, data sheets, and important acronyms in medical and school settings. Chapters cover verbal interactions with families, allied professionals, and supervisors, as well as written and verbal communication across the university, medical, and school settings. Also included are scenarios written in the form of vignettes that address issues of ethics, interviewing, and procedures for managing protected health information. New to the Fourth Edition New pedagogical features (chapter learning outcomes and reflection questions). References and content updated throughout to reflect the current state of research and evidence-based practice. Updated information regarding current requirements and policies for written documentation. Expanded information regarding HIPAA and the ASHA Code of Ethics. Expanded content regarding interacting with supervisors and generational differences. Material on methods for improving writing and editing. Numerous additional examples to further clarify the content and portions reorganized for greater flow of information. Content has been edited to be more concise and reader friendly.
ISBN: 9781635501773Publication Date: 2020-08-01
Speech sound disorders: comprehensive evaluation and treatment by
Children with speech sound disorders are at higher risk of academic failure, behavioral difficulties, motor impairments, language delays, and literacy deficits. Speech Sound Disorders: Comprehensive Evaluation and Treatment by Kelly Vess provides the necessary tools to use research-based practices when diagnosing and treating preschoolers. Sophisticated yet readerfriendly, this interactive book is certain to revolutionize the methodology therapists use to treat children with these disorders and globally improve outcomes. Through a step-by-step process, readers will learn to critically review and evaluate research in practice. Guidance is provided on how to create educationally rich activities to comprehensively treat children with speech sound disorders. Readers will not only learn how to integrate research into practice, but also how to research their own practices to continually grow as professionals and advance the field. In addition, invaluable insights are provided on how to make efficient use of limited therapy time by targeting executive function, social communication, motor skills, language skills, and literacy skills while treating children with speech sound disorders.
Publication Date: 2021
Behavior/Cognition E Books
Augmented Cognition. Human Cognition and Behavior by
This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of 14th International Conference on Augmented Cognition, AC 2020, held as part of the 22nd International Conference on Human-Computer Interaction, HCII 2020, in July 2020. The conference was planned to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark, but had to change to a virtual conference mode due to the COVID-19 pandemic. From a total of 6326 submissions, a total of 1439 papers and 238 posters has been accepted for publication in the HCII 2020 proceedings. The 21 papers presented in this volume were organized in topical sections as follows: cognitive modeling, perception, emotion and interaction; electroencephalography and BCI; and AI and augmented cognition.
ISBN: 9783030504380Publication Date: 2020
Clinical Pathways in Stroke Rehabilitation by
This open access book focuses on practical clinical problems that are frequently encountered in stroke rehabilitation. Consequences of diseases, e.g. impairments and activity limitations, are addressed in rehabilitation with the overall goal to reduce disability and promote participation. Based on the available best external evidence, clinical pathways are described for stroke rehabilitation bridging the gap between clinical evidence and clinical decision-making. The clinical pathways answer the questions which rehabilitation treatment options are beneficial to overcome specific impairment constellations and activity limitations and are well acceptable to stroke survivors, as well as when and in which settings to provide rehabilitation over the course of recovery post stroke. Each chapter starts with a description of the clinical problem encountered. This is followed by a systematic, but concise review of the evidence (RCTs, systematic reviews and meta-analyses) that is relevant for clinical decision-making, and comments on assessment, therapy (training, technology, medication), and the use of technical aids as appropriate. Based on these summaries, clinical algorithms / pathways are provided and the main clinical-decision situations are portrayed. The book is invaluable for all neurorehabilitation team members, clinicians, nurses, and therapists in neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and related fields. It is a World Federation for NeuroRehabilitation (WFNR) educational initiative, bridging the gap between the rapidly expanding clinical research in stroke rehabilitation and clinical practice across societies and continents. It can be used for both clinical decision-making for individuals and as well as clinical background knowledge for stroke rehabilitation service development initiatives.
ISBN: 9783030585044Publication Date: 2021-01-15
The Cognitive Neuroscience of Visual Working Memory by
Visual working memory allows us to temporarily maintain and manipulate visual information in order to solve a task. The study of the brain mechanisms underlying this function began more than half a century ago, with Scoville and Milner’s (1957) seminal discoveries with amnesic patients. This timely collection of papers brings together diverse perspectives on the cognitive neuroscience of visual working memory from multiple fields that have traditionally been fairly disjointed: human neuroimaging, electrophysiological, behavioural and animal lesion studies, investigating both the developing and the adult brain.
ISBN: 9782889451685Publication Date: 2017
Computational Cognitive Modeling and Linguistic Theory by
This open access book introduces a general framework that allows natural language researchers to enhance existing competence theories with fully specified performance and processing components. Gradually developing increasingly complex and cognitively realistic competence-performance models, it provides running code for these models and shows how to fit them to real-time experimental data. This computational cognitive modeling approach opens up exciting new directions for research in formal semantics, and linguistics more generally, and offers new ways of (re)connecting semantics and the broader field of cognitive science. The approach of this book is novel in more ways than one. Assuming the mental architecture and procedural modalities of Anderson’s ACT-R framework, it presents fine-grained computational models of human language processing tasks which make detailed quantitative predictions that can be checked against the results of self-paced reading and other psycho-linguistic experiments. All models are presented as computer programs that readers can run on their own computer and on inputs of their choice, thereby learning to design, program and run their own models. But even for readers who won't do all that, the book will show how such detailed, quantitatively predicting modeling of linguistic processes is possible. A methodological breakthrough and a must for anyone concerned about the future of linguistics! (Hans Kamp) This book constitutes a major step forward in linguistics and psycholinguistics. It constitutes a unique synthesis of several different research traditions: computational models of psycholinguistic processes, and formal models of semantics and discourse processing. The work also introduces a sophisticated python-based software environment for modeling linguistic processes. This book has the potential to revolutionize not only formal models of linguistics, but also models of language processing more generally.
ISBN: 9783030318468Publication Date: 2020
Concussions in Athletics From Brain to Behavior by
Now in a fully revised and expanded second edition, this comprehensive text remains a timely and major contribution to the literature that addresses the neuromechanisms, predispositions, and latest developments in the evaluation and management of concussive injuries. Concussion, also known as mild traumatic brain injury, continues to be a significant public health concern with increased attention focusing on treatment and management of this puzzling epidemic as well as controversies within the field. The book is comprised of five thematic sections: current developments in evaluation; biomechanical mechanisms; neural substrates, biomarkers, genetics and brain imaging; pediatric considerations; and clinical management and rehabilitation. Since the publication of the original edition in 2014, much has changed regarding the current understanding of mild traumatic brain injury including development of more precise imaging modalities, development and classification of new biomarkers, and updates to clinical treatment and management of athletic concussion. This new edition will include new chapters targeting the influence of genetics on concussive injury, as well as an expansion on the knowledge of pediatric response to concussion and the influence of repetitive subconcussive impacts on athlete health. An invaluable contribution to the literature, Concussions in Athletics: From Brain to Behavior reestablishes itself as a state-of-the-art reference that will be of significant interest to a wide range of clinicians, researchers, administrators, and policy makers, and this updated version aims to narrow the gap between research findings and clinical management of sports-related concussion and other mild traumatic brain injury. The second edition also attempts to broaden the scope of the knowledge to apply to more professionals and pre-professionals in the fields of neuroscience, neuropsychology, and other allied health professionals that closely work with athletes and sports medicine professionals.
ISBN: 9783030755645Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Volume 1 by
Volume 1 of this two-volume handbook of contemporary cognitive behavioral scholarship provides a historical and theoretical overview of CBT, summarizes the empirical support for the approach, describes the main strategies and techniques, and outlines an array of CBT treatment packages. Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a psychological treatment that focuses on shifting unhelpful thinking or behavior patterns to more adaptive thinking or behavior patterns. An extensive body of empirical research confirms that CBT is highly efficacious in treating depression, anxiety disorders, alcohol and drug use problems, marital problems, eating disorders, and severe mental illness. Edited by renowned CBT scholar and practitioner Amy Wenzel, this handbook's in-depth coverage, up-to-date research, and rich clinical examples, make it an invaluable resource for all clinicians who offer CBT. Volume 2 evaluates the application of CBT to specific clinical conditions, modalities and settings, and diverse populations.
ISBN: 9781433833526Publication Date: 2021-03-01
The Handbook of Communication Science and Biology by
The Handbook of Communication Science and Biology charts the state of the art in the field, describing relevant areas of communication studies where a biological approach has been successfully applied. The book synthesizes theoretical and empirical development in this area thus far and proposes a roadmap for future research. As the biological approach to understanding communication has grown, one challenge has been the separate evolution of research focused on media use and effects and research focused on interpersonal and organizational communication, often with little intellectual conversation between the two areas. The Handbook of Communication Science and Biology is the only book to bridge the gap between media studies and human communication, spurring new work in both areas of focus. With contributions from the field's foremost scholars around the globe, this unique book serves as a seminal resource for the training of the current and next generation of communication scientists, and will be of particular interest to media and psychology scholars as well.
ISBN: 9781351235587Publication Date: 2020
Post-Stroke Rehabilitation by
Stroke continues to be a major public health issue. It is the third leading cause of death and disability across the globe. Its early identification, early treatment, and prevention are major issues that confront a treating physician. This book addresses the common clinical problems encountered by a stroke rehabilitation team. Stroke survivors are left with a myriad of deficits including motor weakness, sensory and perceptual deficits, speech and swallowing impairment, cognition deficits, and behavioral problems. These topics are dealt with in detail by experts with the goal of disability reduction and functional rehabilitation. This book provides in-depth knowledge on the rehabilitation measures for stroke-related impairments including motor deficits, cognitive impairment, and psychological problems.
ISBN: 9781803553511Publication Date: 2022-10-19
Traumatic Brain Injury - Pathobiology, Advanced Diagnostics and Acute Management by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) syndrome has emerged as a serious health concern worldwide due to the severity of outcomes and growing socioeconomic impacts of the diseases, e.g., high cost of long-term medical care and loss of quality of life. This book focuses on the TBI pathobiology as well as on the recent developments in advanced diagnostics and acute management. The presented topics encompass personal experience and visions of the chapter contributors as well as an extensive analysis of the TBI literature. The book is addressed to a broad audience of readers from students to practicing clinicians.
ISBN: 9781789231168Publication Date: 2018
