Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

Gathering Background Information: Discover Print Reference Sources

Guide created for The Perch media project.

Using Print Reference sources

Nearly every single person uses the internet to look up information and do research, but doing research using print sources, like physical books, newspapers, and magazines exposes us to more information that might be unavailable online. 

Before Google and Wikipedia the most common print references were encyclopedias and dictionaries where people were able to look up facts, dates, and other information relatively quickly. 

Curious to see what they look like and how they're used? You can use the Oxford English Dictionary and the Encyclopedia Britannica in person at The Perch on the 1st Floor of the Main Library.

Print Publications

The Perch with two circles with a bird alit

The Perch is a reimagined space on the first floor of the Main Library, just across from the new books section, featuring a curated collection of current newspapers, literary journals, and magazines of news, commentary, and opinion. The area is open and available to all patrons to use and enjoy. We are especially excited when The Perch is being used as a classroom to support the process-based and creative research needs of students.

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions, please be in touch with katie-hassman@uiowa.edu or cathy-cranston@uiowa.edu, or you can also submit them here. Submit your request to schedule a class session or event in The Perch using our online request form. 

When you aren't able to be here in person, use this guide to explore online access to the titles available in The Perch. Check the News & Reviews, Magazine, and Literature tabs above for details.

Many people were responsible for creating this area. Their many contributions and hours of work are appreciated deeply. Thank you to them all!

The Oxford English Dictionary (1989)

The Oxford English Dictionary, first published in 1884, is widely regarded as a leading authority on the written word. The dictionary contains over 600,000 words and covers the earliest known meanings of words on down to the most current usages of the word. 

At the UI Main Library, we hold the 2nd edition printed in 1989 in the main reference area on the 1st floor. You can locate the volumes in InfoHawk+ here and find it under the call number: FOLIO PE1625 .M7 1989. 

Our Library also subscribes to the full online version: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/oxford/oed that can be found in our list of databases. 

Image showing the complete 20 volume set of the Oxford English Dictionary.

The New Encyclopedia Britannica (2010)

The New Encyclopedia Britannica, first published in 1768 was the "original Google" before the internet existed. It is where most people found answers to all their general reference questions about anything.

The UI Libraries has the complete edition published in 2010 which spans 32 individual volumes. It can be found in the Main library's reference collection on the 1st floor under the call number AE5 .E363 2010. Find a link to the record in InfoHawk+.

Image showing a set of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Print Newspapers

Local newspapers

  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
  • The Des Moines Register
  • Cedar Rapids Gazette

 National/International newspapers

  • Chicago Tribune
  • The Christian Science Monitor
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education
  • The Guardian Weekly
  • Le Monde
  • The New York Times
  • The Times (London)
  • USA Today
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • The Washington Post