Skip to Main Content
Skip to content

ENGL:1200:0027 - The Interpretation of Literature - Krzywonos, Fall 2023: Research

Finding Useful Resources

The best place to start your research is InfoHawk+, UI's online library catalog. InfoHawk+ will provide resources for your research with broad results and can be filtered in a variety of ways. If you have problems getting useful results from InfoHawk+, please reach out to your librarian, Rita Soenksen.

Popular Sources are found in general interest publications and typically don't list the sources used by the author. You want to make sure to utilize credible sources, not just anything you find.

Scholarly Sources provide an interpretation or new information on a topic, are usually reviewed by peer experts in the field, and provide a list of sources used by the author. Don't forget to utilize the bibliographies and citations from resources that you find. If a scholar is writing about a topic that interests you, consult the resources that they used. That's part of the reason that there are citations! 

Databases

Following your curiosity is a great way to research but it makes suggesting a database more complicated! Certain databases cover a wide range of topics and disciplines and may be a great place to start. Some of those include:

Our databases can also be sorted by subject. So, if you are looking for American History or Education, for example, you can go directly to those databases. Pro Tip: Start with the databases that are listed as "Best Bets!" in your subject. They will usually cover a broad set of topics. 

Sample search terms for InfoHawk+

Can't I just Google it?

To find popular media articles and resources for this assignment, yes, you can Google it! You will also need at least three academic resources - this course guide will help make you more comfortable with doing your non-Google research.

Google is a familiar tool but there are other options that will make collegiate-level research much easier (and instructor-approved!). This infographic charts the pros and cons of Google, Google Scholar, and library databases. Each one is useful in its own way.

Infographic of Google, Google Scholar, and databases

Created by McMaster University Library. Used under Creative Commons license. Original found at https://library.mcmaster.ca/research/how-library-stuff-works.

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

NC State University Libraries (https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/videos/evaluating-sources-for-credibility). Credits: Anne Burke: Project Lead, Storyboards; Lisa Becksford: Script, Editing; Daria Dorafshar: Graphics and Animation; Andreas Orphanides: Editing, Audio Production, Technical Infrastructure; Josephine McRobbie: Narration.

License

license for creative commons

This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.

InfoHawk+ Books

View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.

Add this link to ICON or other webpages:

https://uicapture.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=2981ce6d-8eca-448c-bb35-adea0127d830

InfoHawk+ Articles

View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.

Add this direct link to ICON or other webpages:

https://uicapture.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=e9a410a4-f005-45ce-be13-adea0127cb8d