Selected Reference Books
African-American Newspapers and PeriodicalsCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO PN4882.5 .A38 1998)ISBN: 0674007883
Africana:the encyclopedia of the African and African American experienceCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO DT14 .A37435 2005)ISBN: 0195170555
African American HistoryCall Number: Main Reference Collection (E185 .A25355 2006)ISBN: 1587652390
The African American Newspaper: Voice of FreedomCall Number: UI Main Library Stacks (PN4882.5 .W37 2006)ISBN: 0810122901
African American WomenCall Number: Main Reference Collection (Z1361.N39 T49 2001)ISBN: 031331263X
Bibliography of African American LeadershipCall Number: Main Reference Collection (Z1361.N39 W285 2000)ISBN: 0313313148
Black SagaISBN: 0395687179
Encyclopedia of African-American HeritageCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO E185 .A455 2000)ISBN: 0816041253
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO E185 .E54 2006)ISBN: 0028658167
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the PresentCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO E185 .E5453 2009)ISBN: 9780195167795
Encyclopedia of African American SocietyCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO E185 .E546 2005)ISBN: 0761927646
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth CenturyCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO E169.1 .E57 2001)ISBN: 0684805006
The Harvard Guide to African-American HistoryCall Number: Main Reference Collection (E185 .H326 2001)ISBN: 0674002768
The Routledge Atlas of African American HistoryCall Number: Main Reference Collection (E185 .E125 2000)ISBN: 0415921368
Selected Books
African-American Activism Before the Civil WarCall Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.18 .A47 2008)ISBN: 9780415957267
Birthright CitizensCall Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9781107150348
The Early Black Press in America, 1827-1860Call Number: Main Library Stacks (PN4882.5 .H87 1993)ISBN: 0313286965
The Early Negro Convention MovementCall Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.5 .A38 no.9)
Emancipation's DiasporaISBN: 1469605570
In the Balance of Power: Independent Black politics and third-party movements in the United StatesCall Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.18 .A55 2008)ISBN: 9780821418062- The Mind of the Negro As Reflected in Letters Written During the Crisis, 1800-1860Call Number: Main Library Stacks (E185 .W8877)ISBN: 083711179X
- Minutes of the Proceedings of the National Negro ConventionsCall Number: UI Main Library Stacks (E185.5 .B44 1969)
A Nation Within a Nation: organizing African-American communities before the Civil War / by Call Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.5 .E76 2011)ISBN: 9781566638074- Proceedings of the Black National and State Conventions, 1865-1900Call Number: MainLibrary Stacks (E184.5 .P73 1986 )ISBN: 0877223246
- Proceedings of the Black State Conventions, Eighteen Forty to Eighteen Sixty-FiveCall Number: UI Main Library Stacks E184.5 .P87ISBN: 0877221456
Seeking inalienable rights: Texans and their quests for justiceISBN: 1603443630See Chapter 1: "Early Organizing in the Search for Equality: African American Conventions in Late Nineteenth-Century Texas."- A survey of the Negro convention movement, 1830-1861.Call Number: Main Library Stacks (E185 .B38 1969 )
- There is a river : the Black struggle for freedom in AmericaCall Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.615 .H28)
To Live an Antislavery LifeISBN: 1283733323- Unknown TonguesCall Number: Main Library Stacks (E185.9 .T38 2003)ISBN: 0870136526
