RELS:1506 Introduction to Buddhism: Buddhism
Resource guide for RELS:1506:0AAA
Krishna and Radha in a Lotus Pond
Photo: © Asian Art Archives, University of Michigan
Additional Resources
-
BuddhaNetBuddhaNet™ is the result of a vision to link up with the growing world-wide culture of people committed to the Buddha's teachings and lifestyle, as an on-line cyber sangha. In this way, an ancient tradition and the information superhighway will come together to create an electronic meeting place of shared concern and interests.
-
The Tibetan Buddhist Resource CenterThe Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to seeking out, preserving, organizing, and disseminating Tibetan literature. Joining digital technology with scholarship, TBRC ensures that the treasures of the Tibetan literary tradition are not lost, but are made available for future generations.
-
Digital South Asia LibraryThe Digital South Asia Library, a project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago, provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
Databases
-
ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Contains the complete contents of Religion Index One (journal literature in religion from 1949-present), Religion Index Two (multi-author works, such as Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other volumes of collected articles and essays, 1960-present), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. Included are article citations from some 650 journals and essay citations from over 14,000 multi-author works as well as book review citations.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. -
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowMulti-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
-
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Databases
-
Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP)Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP) is an educational organization dedicated to preserving ancient Asian philosophical texts and manuscripts and making them available through electronic media.website that provides Bibliographical information on philosophical literature of the Classical period in India, as well as secondary scholarly works on the same topic
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
Encyclopedia of Indian PhilosophiesA website that provides Bibliographical information on philosophical literature of the Classical period in India, as well as secondary scholarly works on the same topic.
-
Encyclopedia of China This link opens in a new windowThe essential reference to China, its history and culture.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields--ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
-
Access to InsightSite provides information on Theravada Buddhism with translations and commentaries.
Reference E-Books
-
Encyclopedia of BuddhismProviding a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
-
Encyclopedia of ReligionThis second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century.
-
World Religions Reference LibraryReligion influences the views and actions of many people, in both political and personal ways. To make sense of many historical and current events, to learn how many people find meaning and purpose in their lives, students and the general public need to understand the development and doctrines of the world's religions. UXL's World Religions Reference Library meets the demand for a thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religion
Subject Guide
Rachel Garza Carreón
Contact:
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Latino Native American Cultural Center
(319) 335-6441
Additional Resources
-
Digital Dictionary of BuddhismThis dictionary contains over 38,000 entries, including Buddhist terms, texts, schools, temples, and persons. Entries range in scope from short glossary type, to full-length encyclopedic articles. Now supported by dozens of collaborators with specialist's expertise in a wide range of areas in Buddhist studies, this dictionary is expanding as collaborators continue to add or revise entries.
O
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,700 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.