Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

Research Ready: Google Scholar Tips

Google Scholar

"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites." from https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/about.htmlAbout Google Scholar

To be able to get to full-text articles from your Library's subscriptions when using Google Scholar, either go directly to http://scholar.google.com and follow the instructions below to get linked to our library, or use the Library's proxied link found in our list of databases, http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/GoogleSch.  

Use Google Scholar to get full-text articles with Library subscriptions - Link to the Library!

Go to Settings

Google Scholar settings

Google Scholar Settings Link

Click on Library Links

Google Scholar Library Links

Make sure The University of Iowa - ViewIt@UILink has a check mark next to it and SAVE that setting. If you are logged in to a Google Account, the setting should remain each time you login. 

Google Scholar save settings

Then look for the ViewIt@UILink link in the results to get to University of Iowa subscribed content.Getting to full-text from Google Scholar

Explore the "Cite" and "Cited by" features

Citing from Google Scholar

When to Use Google Scholar

Pros of using Google Scholar

  • free search tool that is available to everyone with online access
  • searches across many disciplines all at one time
  • easy to use
  • quick way to follow-up on a citation you find in a bibliography

Cons of using Google Scholar

  • less quality control in Google Scholar than most library databases because of its automated process for including material found online
  • results sometimes too broad; library databases, especially those that are subject-specific, will be more focused and therefore typically provide more precise results
  • there is no transparency in either the number or the titles of journals that are searched in Google Scholar; you may not be able to easily verify that the core journals in your discipline have their content included
  • large portion of the linked content is behind a paywall, so you will need to either be affiliated with an institution/university that has access to the content or use a local public library to make a request for the material. If you have the means, you may be able to purchase the information you seek article by article, but the cost will add up quickly.