Latinx Studies
Selected Resources
-
Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations explores more than 200 years of political, military, economic, and cultural connections between the United States of America and its neighbors to the south.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Covers social sciences and the humanities in alternate years.
-
Dictionary of Latin American cultural studiesElectronic resource.
-
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
-
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe majority of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
-
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources (SALALM)This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.