Latinx Studies
Selected Digital Collections
-
AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of AM (Adam Matthew), spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowDigital historical documents from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world. Search across all Gale Primary Source holdings in your subscription or select specific categories or groups of archives to search within.
-
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowCovers foreign reactions to America’s struggles with racial justice, from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movement and beyond. Provides a wealth of primary source documents on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history
-
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. The Latino-Hispanic American Experience offers a unique approach, focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history in the U.S.
-
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, and are indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery. This collection offers a unique approach by focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States.
-
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new windowDocumenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
-
Bracero History ArchiveThe Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
-
Onda Latina, The Mexican American Experience
-
Institute for Latino Studies Oral History Project (Notre Dame)Oral history interviews are a major component of the Institute for Latino Studies' effort to document and preserve Latino history. These interviews offer scholars and students 'first person' narratives of American culture and society. More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.