HIST:3264 Technology in American Culture & Society: Magazines and Journals

Popular vs. Scholarly

Databases A-Z

ABI/INFORM Global
Search nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984-
Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of all articles from 1991 to date published in 21 ACM journals and transactions, as well as tables of contents of conference proceedings, are available at this site. A search engine allows the user to find relevant information from all sources.
America: History and Life
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. The coverage is 1954- .
EconLit
Source material in this database includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains more than 735,000 records covering 1969-present. The subjects covered within EconLit include accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and much more.
Ei Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
Engineering Village features: COMPENDEX is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. INSPEC includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
As of Sep 2023, we've received some reports from users encountering access issues while using Chrome.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Project Muse
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Smithsonian Collections Online, 1970-
Gale and the Smithsonian Institution have partnered to give libraries a unique opportunity to provide students, faculty, and researchers the chance to look behind the glass of the Smithsonian exhibits and collections.
Includes: Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry, World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow, Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Web of Science
[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.

If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.

Selected Journals

Magazine Archives

Readers' Guide Retrospective
A comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
Periodicals Archive Online
Companion to: Periodicals index online. Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Architectural Digest Archive (1922-2011)
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. The Economist Historical Archive complements the Times Digital Archive also available from Gale/Cengage Learning.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA)
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Forbes Archive (1917-2000)
Forbes Magazine Archive is the world’s only complete digital version of the Forbes backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1917, the archive offers 70 years’ worth of content not available on any other EBSCO full-text product. Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style
Godey's Lady's Book
19th century magazine intended to "entertain and educate" women of America. Early issues include biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, fashion, dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, and piano forte sheet music. Later issues contain book reviews and works by such 19th century authors as Poe, Hawthorne, Longfellow and Stowe. Illustrations.
HarpWeek: the Civil War Era through the Gilded Age (1857-1912)
Full text of the popular 19th century magazine, Harper's Weekly, on literature, history, current events, culture and society. Includes images from Harper's Weekly, with index.
Liberty Magazine, 1924-1950
Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune and often regarded as the world's greatest publisher. From its inception, they set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors.
Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000)
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. Front and back covers as well as all articles and advertisements contained in the original publication are included.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
Visit the microsite.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984)
Unique in that it covers the magazine from the beginning of its three predecessor titles. The magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions.