Museum Studies
Core Resources Page Description
The resources on this page provide information on all areas and specializations within librarianship and provide a jumping off point for research in Museum Studies; this is not meant to be a comprehensive list of relevant resources.
Journals
Key Databases
-
JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. -
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
-
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
-
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Locate news about museum events, outreach, programming, funding, and initiatives from around the world.
Open Access Resources
Because access to different publications and databases can change as you move from institution to institution throughout graduate school and your professional career, open access resources will remain an important source for learning and professional development
-
Getty AATA OnlineA free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage
-
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information NetworkBooks, articles and other bibliographic materials on conservation, preservation, and restoration of cultural heritage.
-
UNESCO Database of National Cultural Heritage LawsTool for free and easy access to cultural heritage laws
-
Google Arts and CultureDiscover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
-
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDirectory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals.