HIST:3502:0001 History of Mexico: Digital Collections

Databases

AM Explorer
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of AM (Adam Matthew), spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Archives Unbound
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Covers a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. The Latino-Hispanic American Experience offers a unique approach, focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history in the U.S.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, and are indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery. This collection offers a unique approach by focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States.
Colonial America
Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
DNSA contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 875,000 pages and approximately 140,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Empire Online
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
Covers such important events as post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, and Latin American migrations to the United States. It also covers controversial issues like ethnic friction, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and much more
Migration to New Worlds
From government-led population drives during the early nineteenth century through to mass steamship travel, Migration to New Worlds showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.
ProQuest History Vault
ProQuest is introducing primary source materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
UI subscriptions: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century (Federal Government Records); NAACP Papers (all); Slavery and the Law; Struggle for Women's Rights, 1880-1990.

Selected Websites

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The majority of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.
Dupee Mexican History Collection Broadsides
The Dupee Collection offers nearly 200 broadsides published after the Mexican republic secured its independence in 1821. Chronicled within the broadsides are Mexican partisan politics, religious and anti-clerical debates, popular literature and drama, domestic revolutions and armed conflict with the United States. Most are Spanish-language sources written by Mexican citizens and published in Mexico.
Elmer & Diane Powell Collection on Mexico and the Mexican Revolution
This digital collection from SMU's DeGolyer Library contains many items related to the Mexican Revolution. The collection is particularly strong in photography.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, & Law (HeinOnline)
This collection comprises more than 700 unique titles related to the law of indigenous peoples of the Americas. Access a vast digital archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This collection also includes select legislative histories, scholarly articles, and other related works. Some notable titles include the Decisions of the Department of the Interior from 1883 to 1995 and the Opinions of the Solicitor of the Department of the Interior Relating to Indian Affairs from 1917 to 1974, and Felix S. Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law. Also, available for the first time in digital format is Felix S. Cohen's Statutory Compilation of the Indian Law Survey. A Compendium of Federal Laws and Treaties Relating to Indians, Pts. 1 - 46 (1776 - 1938).
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources (SALALM)
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.
The Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (MIDAS)
MIDAS, the Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (los Archivos del Autoritarismo Mexicano), is a crowd-sourced, public access digital archive of historical documents from Mexican intelligence agencies. The collection is drawn from Mexico’s two principal security services, the Dirección Federal de Seguridad (DFS) and the Dirección General de Investigaciones Políticas y Sociales (DGIPS) and covers the period c.1940 to c.1985.
Political Database of the Americas
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University in collaboration with institutions like the Secretariat for Political Affairs of the Organization of American States and FLACSO-Chile, and also with the support of other organizations and entities in the region.

Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. With more than 1,500 pages of information, the PDBA is one of the most preferred sources of political information on the Internet reaching more than 600,000 users per month.
Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Americanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo
A digital collection of the first books printed in the Americas (Mexico and Peru) before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies in a variety of academic fields. Includes documents in Spanish, Huastec, Latin, Mixtec, Nahuatl, Otomi, Tarascan, and Zapotec.
The Pronunciamiento in Independent Mexico 1821 - 1876
Free online database that includes full transcriptions of over 1500 Spanish pronumciamientos. Often defined as 'revolt', the pronunciamiento was a written protest/petition, generally drafted as a list of grievances or demands, signed by a group of individuals and/or corporate body (high-ranking officers, town council officials, villagers, members of a particular garrison, Indian pueblo, etc.) that could result in an armed rebellion if the government did not attend to them.