Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

ENGL:5000 Introduction to Graduate Study: E-Journals and Databases

An introductory collection of library resources for new graduate students within the Department of English.

E-Journals and Databases

While many of our holdings are cataloged in InfoHawk+, not every single item is there. Knowing how to search e-journals and databases can really help your research. 

Some of the most popular literary databases are detailed via the dropdown menu (arrow) on this tab. Those databases include:

Searching and browsing e-journals can give an overview of current scholarship in your areas of interest. Journals (electronic and print) are listed in InfoHawk+ but this page provides more information on how to find them and browse online.

Searching for an e-journal title

If you are looking for a specific e-journal title, it will typically rise to the top of your InfoHawk+ search. But not always. Here is another way to look for electronic journal titles held by the University of Iowa.

From the Libraries homepage, click on the button for E-Journals.

Screenshot of the University of Iowa Libraries homepage

In the E-Journals A-Z that opens, you can search for journals by title or ISSN.

Screenshot of e-journal search box

BrowZine

Screenshot of BrowZine landing page - list of subjects and images of journal covers

BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines. You can access via the app or the web.

App Version

1. Download the app. 
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.

Web Version

1. Click the BrowZine Web link.
2. "Access Provided By University of Iowa" should appear at top right.
3. Search for publications by topic or title.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.