Now comprehensive ADA compliance reviews are as easy as ticking off items on your clipboard! Save time, avoid costly delays, reduce your liability to zero with this first-ever source of ADA review forms and checklists for: Exterior spaces; Interior spaces; Transient lodging; Transportation facilities; Entire sites and buildings.

This book considers the interrelationships between disability and housing design with a focus on the role of policy in addressing the housing needs of disabled people. The book will set out some of the broader debates about the nature of housing, quality and design: in what ways is domestic design and architecture implicated in inhibiting or facilitating mobility and movement of people; what is the nature of government regulation and policy in relation to the design of home environments. To date there is little or no knowledge about the range of approaches to accessible design in housing nor how far policies and practices are adequate or not in creating accessible home environments. This book will go some way to address this shortfall in knowledge.

This supplement to ABAAS tailors some of the requirements to better meet the barrier free needs of the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) in its health care facilities.

The guide that takes the guesswork out of Fair Housing Act Accessibility Guidelines conformance The Federal government is stepping up its enforcement of the Fair Housing Act Accessibility Guidelines, and failure to comply with these guidelines can result in a complaint for discriminatory housing practice. A Basic Guide to Fair Housing Accessibility enables building professionals to avoid these charges with clear, concise interpretations of the Guidelines and descriptive illustrations of proper conformance. Inspired by the author′s HUD-sponsored review of nearly 400 built projects, this compact yet comprehensive guide reviews the guidelines for conformance with the seven basic design and construction requirements of the Fair Housing Amendments Act, from accessible building entrances to usable kitchens, and points out common conformance errors made by architects, builders, and developers. This practical, easy-to-follow handbook: ∗ Demystifies accessibility guidelines and reduces the risk of litigation ∗ Explains which buildings and units are covered by the law ∗ Provides a compliance checklist for multifamily housing design and construction Featuring only the facts and technical guidance needed to help ensure conformance with the Guidelines, A Basic Guide to Fair Housing Accessibility is an indispensable resource for architects, builders, contractors, site engineers, and developers who need to know that their work is in conformance with Federal guidelines.

Inclusive design, universal design and universal access are long standing, familiar terms with clear and laudable goals. However, their teaching and industrial uptake has been very limited. Many products still exclude users unnecessarily for reasons ranging from corporate insensitivity and the size of the market for inclusive products to the individual designer's inability to design them. This pragmatic approach to making inclusive design desirable to industry addresses these issues and discusses why existing methods have failed to be assimilated into industry.Featuring:- The concept of design exclusion- Definition and specification of target populations- The prevalence of impairments in a population- Quantifying the number of people excluded- Proposals for new design approaches, tools and techniques- Assessment of a design's inclusivity- An introduction to current legislation- Making inclusive design desirable to industryThrough the use of case studies and examples, Countering Design Exclusion introduces the mind-set necessary to think through the challenges raised by inclusive design and to adapt their solutions to the needs of particular companies. The practical outlook will appeal to anyone who wishes to take account of the largest possible part of the population in their designs.

Inclusive design not only ensures that products, services, interfaces and environments are easier to use for those with special needs or limitations, but in doing so makes them better for everyone. Design for Inclusivity is a guide to inclusive design for all types of designers, providing guidelines, real examples and information sources.

A comprehensive review of international and national standards and guidelines, this handbook consists of 32 chapters divided into nine sections that cover standardization efforts, anthropometry and working postures, designing manual material, human-computer interaction, occupational health and safety, legal protection, military human factor standards, and sources for human factors and ergonomics standards. The book delineates the role standards and guidelines play in facilitating the design and optimal working conditions in regards to occupational safety and health as well as system performance in the context of technological advances and opportunities for economic development worldwide.

A Unique Visual Guide to the 2009 International Building Code Updated to reflect the changes in the International Code Council 2009 International Building Code, this illustrated guide makes it easy to understand and apply complex Code requirements and achieve compliance. Designed to save you time and money, this detailed reference transforms difficult paragraphs into simple lists and converts complicated equations into accessible tables. Ready-to-use answers and practical case studies help you get construction jobs done right, on time, and up to the requirements of the 2009 Code. The Illustrated 2009 Building Code Handbook is also an invaluable study guide for the design portion of the architectural licensing examination. Achieve Full Compliance with Every Aspect of the 2009 Code: Scope and Administration Definitions Use and Occupancy Classification Special Detailed Requirements Based on Use and Occupancy General Building Heights and Areas Types of Construction Fire and Smoke Protection Features Interior Finishes Fire Protection Systems Means of Egress Accessibility Interior Environment Energy Efficiency Exterior Walls Roof Assemblies and Rooftop Structures Structural Design Structural Tests and Special Inspections Soils and Foundations Concrete Aluminum Masonry Steel Wood Glass and Glazing Gypsum Board and Plaster Plastic Electrical Mechanical Systems Plumbing Systems Elevators and Conveying Systems Special Construction Encroachments into the Public Right-of-Way Safeguards During Construction Existing Structures Referenced Standards

This book is intended to help users understand the facilities requirements of the ADAAG. Incorporating all of the latest guideline amendments within a compact and easy-to-use format that contains no confusing abbreviations, this Revised Edition presents the technical building requirements for accessible elements and spaces in new construction, alterations, and additions. The Guide is augmented with more than 60 illustrations from the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines, and covers special requirements for businesses, restaurants, medical care facilities, libraries, and much more.

Interior designers, architects, and other design professionals can now locate, in a comprehensive single-source reference, a wealth of information related to the design and planning of residential and commercial interiors. From standard furniture dimensions to architectural woodwork details, this important volume in McGraw-Hill's acclilamed Time-Saver Standards series provides a vast array of time-saving data and details for designers and draftspersons. Featuring contributions from well-known architectural and interior design firms, this authoritative reference includes details derived from actual designs and working drawings showing various solutions for typical design problems encountered in interior architecture. It includes a wide range of typical layouts and residential spaces, offices, conference rooms, and reception areas, in addition to details of bars, restaurants, and public toilets. Two outstanding sections cover historic styles and woodworking. Architects and designers across a broad spectrum of experience and interest will find this book to be one of their most treasured references.

Time Saver Standards for Urban Design, in the tradition of the Time-Saver Standards series, is the world's foremost professional reference on the physical design of cities and urban places including communities and civic and public places. Scope of the work is international and topics include preservation, renewal, patterns of settlement and sustainability. Key Features middot; International coverage including recent European and Asian sustainability initiatives middot; Topics from allied disciplines such as transportation engineering, bioregionalism and environmental engineering middot; Heavily illustrated middot; Prestigious contributors include Alan Plattus, Dean of the College of Architecture, Yale University