Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Search Methods
Most standards support searching additional sources after database searching is completed. Depending on the topic, one or all of the below methods may be appropriate. A librarian may be able to contribute to developing a plan.
- Grey Literature: Grey literature includes unpublished studies, reports, conference proceedings, and other materials from professional organizations or governmental agencies. Grey literature may be challenging to locate. Unpublished studies should be consulted to reduce the risk of publication bias in results. See the UI Libraries' Gray/Grey Literature guide to learn more.
- References: Reviewing reference lists from selected articles can turn up other studies that were missed during the searching phase.
- Hand Searching: This involves Identifying key journals for the topic and manually searching table of contents or using electronic journal search interface.
- Citing Papers: Reviewing citing papers from key relevant studies on the topic may yield additional results not captured. Citation resources include Google Scholar, Web of Science, and Scopus. Refer to the Database Searching tab to learn more about these tools and how to use them.
The resources listed below detail types and access points for various types of grey literature. Including grey literature sources has been demonstrated to have an impact on findings in several studies.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
FDA Drug Approvals
Searchable database of drug, biologic, and molecular entity approvals.
Provides Information on new FDA approvals and results of clinical trials of new drugs.
NCI Developmental Therapeutics Program
Information from the drug discovery and development arm of the National Cancer Institute. Select "Data Search" on the left-hand side to search the available datasets
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses- Health and Medicine
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations. The NDLTD Union Catalog, which is freely available, contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
These tools are useful for finding a variety of types of grey literature, as opposed to more specific resources listed in boxes below.
Try advanced search to improve precision. Use date limits and domain limits if desired. Can also use google to search a specific web site (bottom of advanced search page)
Medline Plus Organization Directory
A list of health sciences organizations by topic or name. Search individual organizations of interest for reports, conference proceedings, newsletters, guidelines, etc.
Free resource containing records to clinical trials in progress in US. It includes intervention and observational study records.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Contains published articles taken from bibliographic databases and other published and unpublished sources. About three-fifths of the records in CENTRAL are taken from MEDLINE. Link will take you to entire Cochrane Library- collection of 7 databases. Narrowing results to contents of CENTRAL can be accomplished in advanced search.
Global source for clinical trials information, offering news, analysis, study grants, career opportunities, and trial listings to professionals and patients.
A journal devoted to publishing proceedings of conferences, including both peer-reviewed full-length articles and collections of meeting abstracts. Content is not restricted to any particular discipline within biomedicine.
Large multidisciplinary database that contains many conference proceedings.
A biomedical and pharmaceutical database that includes a substantial number of conference records, especially from European journals.
Web of Science
Includes conference proceedings from sciences and social sciences disciplines.
Reports and Policy
AHRQ- Agency for HealthCare Research and Quality
Agency for HealthCare Research and Quality site is a good place to locate reports that have to do with patient safety and medical errors, health care quality and cost. AHRQ Is the home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research: quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, and more..
NIH's RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) query tool provides a listing of biomedical research projects funded by the NIH, with numerous query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results).
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, provides free access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe.
WHO: World Health Organization
Contains reports and guidelines on public and global health topics.