UI Libraries Resources
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
...
Photo source: Cuba-pa-pa!, Rob Stradling, Flickr.
Important Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowHAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowContains scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Covers social sciences and the humanities in alternate years.
- RedALyC This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
- SciELO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America. Content is primarily in Spanish.
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the right column of this guide.
- WorldCatWorldCat will help you find books from many libraries in the United States, plus some libraries worldwide.
- Uborrow This link opens in a new windowSearch over 90 million books from the collections of 13 research libraries, request, and receive within a week.
Subject Guide
Course reserves
- Course Reserves SearchMaterials on reserve for classes at The University of Iowa can now be searched online. Here you can search by course instructor, course name, course number, or department in addition to author, title, or call number.
Selected Reference Resources
Recommended links
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC, UT Austin)LANIC is a selective directory of over 10,000 websites from and about Latin America.
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.