Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Temporary Access
Two common and easily solved problems with streaming video involve off-campus access through the University of Iowa Proxy Server or temporary network errors.
- Proxy problems: Links to resources, like videos, that the University of Iowa pays for must be routed through the UI proxy server to take advantage of IP network authentication. If you are off-campus and being asked to pay for access to a video, try adding https://login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url= to the beginning of the video's web address.
- If you are getting an error message that the film is not available or the film will not load in your browser, it is possible that network error occurred.Try clearing your browser's cache/Temporary Internet Files and linking to the video again. Go to any non-uiowa.edu webpage (to make sure you are not reloading the same bad information) and follow the instructions at http://refreshyourcache.com/
More detailed troubleshooting information is available through the link below.
Licensed Online Videos - Most popular
Custom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects.
UIowa can subscribe to individual titles upon request.
PDA subscriptions include:
* Latin American Studies Collection
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming video titles the University of Iowa has licensed from Swank.
Please note:The Google Widevine plugin is required for viewing video on this site.
Feature Films for Education Collection
In partnership with Global Eagle, this collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issues films and videos.
Alexander Street Video
Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
Licensed Video Databases
The UI Libraries subscription to these resources includes permission for use in online and geographically limited classes. Most also allow you to make clips of specific sections of video.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
Encompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. Access to both the fundamental building blocks of common laboratory techniques and the newest, cutting-edge experiments
Met Opera on Demand (MOoD): Student Access
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. Limit: 5 simultaneous users
Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos.
Psychotherapy.net provides streaming access to a collection of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction training videos. They also publish articles, interviews, blogs, and cartoons as free, additional educational resources; many of the therapists from the videos are also featured in interviews on this website.
A database containing more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families.
Thanks to deg farrelly from Arizona State University for allowing us to use information from his LibGuide: http://libguides.asu.edu/StreamingVideo
What is Streaming Video?
Streaming video is a means of delivering video content to computer desktops via an Internet connection, without requiring any additional equipment for decoding or downloading. A host server delivers the file to the receiving computer. The host can be either local or remote. Multiple users can view the same video at the same time from different locations.
Streaming video differs from downloads in that no copy of the file is stored on the end-user’s computer, so files remain relatively secure.
Playback requires receiving computers to have appropriate software installed. Commonly used streaming frameworks include Windows Media, RealVideo, QuickTime, and Flash. Some streaming services provide files in the end-user’s choice of formats.
Because of the large file size for visual data streaming videos usually employ file compression. This compression usually negatively affects image quality when played full-screen or projected. Even with compression, effective use of streaming video requires a robust, high-speed internet connection. Dial-up connections generally are too slow to adequately deliver streaming videos.