Skip to main content

Guides

Enlgish Language Journals for Japanese Studies the UI Libraries: Home

InfoHawk Catalog

InfoLink E-Journal Search


InfoHawk +


InfoHawk + allows you search a variety of University of Iowa Libraries resources at once.

Request Materials

Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System

Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.

Locating the Journal in the UI Libraries

Locations (English and Western language journals):

  • Current issues: Periodicals Reading Room (3F)
  • Back issues: Bound and shelved in alphabetical order (3F).
  • Annual publications: Those titles have a call number and shelved in the regular stack on the 4th and 5th floor.

JSTOR and ProjectMuse

  JSTOR Project Muse Other Databases
The Journal of Asian Studies

Coverage: 1956-2011

External content: 2012-2013

  Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1990 to present), Cambridge University Press Current Complete  and Bibliography of Asian Studies.
The Journal of Japanese Studies

Coverage: 1974-2009

Coverage: Vol. 30 (2004) through current issue Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1994 to present) and Bibliography of Asian Studies
The Journal of Korean Studies  Coverage: 1979-2012 Coverage: Vol. 1 (1969) through current issue Also indexed in Bibliography of Asian Studies

 If you search journal titles in InfoHawk or check Find Resources->E-Journals on Library Website menu,   will tell you which databases includes a specific journal and its coverage.

(As of February 25, 2015)

 

JSTOR (Journal Storage)Restricted Resource - UI Access Only

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

JSTOR includes Citation Tools to save, export, track, and e-mail the citation. Some funtion requires you to create MyJSTOR account.

Do you know if JSTOR citations are formatted according to any specific style manual? --> Answer

Project Muse Restricted Resource - UI Access Only

With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.

ProjectMuse comes with citation tools as well. Look for Save Citation, View Citation, Export Citation links on search result screen, bibliographic data screen, etc. ProjectMuse will provide citations in different style formats.

How to Cite Content in Project Muse: http://muse.jhu.edu/about/tools/pdf/cite_content.pdf

Databases/Indexes

Subject Guide

Tsuyoshi Harada's picture
Tsuyoshi Harada
Contact:
100 Main Library
tsuyoshi-harada@uiowa.edu