It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you want to browse through some journal articles by author, topic or keyword, use one or more of these databases. This is a huge list of over 650 databases, so check out the Databases box for some recommendations.
If the Library doesn't have the article you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Search for Articles
Search for articles in scholarly journals and magazines using these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.
[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov provides a search of over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific Websites.
Engineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
Engineering Village features: COMPENDEX is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature. INSPEC includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
References and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, covering North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography of North American geology; Bibliography and index of geology exclusive of North America; Geophysical abstracts (Washington, D.C.); and: Bibliography and index of geology; with additional citations from other sources. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.7 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
Everyone MUST register on campus using an Iowa email account to use this resource. Detailed instructions are located at guides.lib.uiowa.edu/SciFinder. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS.