Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Speeches and Transcripts
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
An index to a growing database of full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
From the American Memory Project, Library of Congress: digitized transcripts of interviews with over 2,300 former slaves, as well as 500+ photographs. Search narratives and photos by keyword or browse by narrator's name or volume (they first appeared as a 17-volume set in 1941), or search and browse images.
CQ Press Library
CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Includes Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook and Voting and Elections Collection
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Martin Luther King Jr. and Black History Month
Selected reference sources from Louisiana State University Libraries that focus on the writings and speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr.
NPR News Now
National Public Radio provides a searchable archive of programs (transcripts available for purchase) and accessible recordings.