HIST:2151:0002 Introduction to the History Major The Forging of Modern America, 1870-1920: Don't Forget
H-SHGAPE Internet Resources
-
H-SHGAPE Internet ResourcesH-SHGAPE is an online forum of the Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era and one of the founding lists on H-NET. H-SHGAPE seeks to encourage the study of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era through its discussion list and online resources.
Microform Guides
-
Media Services Microform Collection GuideThis annotated index of approximately 250 microform guides stored in The University of Iowa Main Library Media Services Department provides a summary of those holdings that have guides. This numerical index has been arranged as a shelf list, giving the order in which the guides are to be found on the shelf according to accession number. This is only a small portion of microforms available on campus; many microform materials do not have guide books.
-
Microform Sets for Historical ResearchThe great untapped source of primary historical materials for history researchers in this area is the vast collection of microform sets held in the UI Libraries and the UI Law Library. This document lists sizable microform sets of potential interest to history researchers. It lists only microform sets that are "sizable," that is, those consisting of more than 6 reels of microfilm, or more than 40 microfiche, or more than 200 microprints or microcards.
Government Resources
-
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln. Two cumulative indexes cover 1861-1899 and 1900-1918. The series provides official documentary history of major foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
-
Historical Statistics of the United StatesExpanded and rev. ed. of: Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Bicentennial ed. Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975.
-
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history.
-
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
