Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reasons to Use LISTA
1 - The "Cited Reference" feature allows you to discover articles
that cite other articles or authors.
2 - The "Visual Search" is a unique graphic interface for navigating
within sets of citations.
3 - You can search LISTA simultaneously with any of 35 other
databases by accessing LISTA through the UI's menu
of Ebsco general journals and newspapers.
4 - LISTA (without any full text articles) is offered as a
free resource for librarians by the EBSCO company. When you lose access
to UI licensed databases after graduation, you'll still be able to use LISTA.
Description of LISTA
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- indexes over 600 periodicals, some cover-to-cover and some selectively
- covers library science, information science and related fields
- emphasizes English-language, North American periodicals but includes foreign publications too
- begins indexing coverage in mid-1960s
- does not include full text articles in the free version provided at UI
- indexes scholarly journals, professional magazines, technical journals, conference proceedings, books, and research reports
- covers feature articles, short news articles, books, book reviews, and more
- includes abstracts for all citations
- has a searchable thesaurus of subject terms
- Searches can be limited upfront to peer-reviewed articles only.
- The Cited References search allows you find citations to a known work or to the works of a known author. Find the Cited References search under "More" on the banner at the top of the screen.
- The Visual Search displays results as mapped topical clusters.
- Includes author profiles.
- You can create “alerts” and be notified by email or RSS feed when new content of interest to you is added to the database.
- Search results can be saved to "folders" and shared with others.
References: Thanks to the LIS Library @ UIUC LIS LibGuide