Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reasons to Use LISA
1 - Of the three LIS databases, LISA is the most focused on scholarly and technical literature, excluding news stories, book reviews, and the like.
2 - LISA has the best and most balanced international coverage. (But you might be disappointed by articles with translated titles that sound terrific, but which are only available in their original languages.)
3 - LISA provides a robust thesaurus
Description of LISA
Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
- indexes over 440 periodicals
- covers library science, information science and related fields
- emphasizes English-language articles from Great Britain and North America, and also includes many citations to articles in other languages
- begins indexing coverage in 1969
- does not include full text articles in the database itself, but does link to full text through the UI's Discover service.
- indexes scholarly journals, professional magazines, and technical journals
- emphasizes feature articles and book reviews
- includes abstracts for all citations
- has a searchable thesaurus of subject terms
- You can search LISA simultaneously with other ProQuest databases, including ERIC and Sociological Abstracts.
- Includes scholar profiles.
- You can create “alerts” and be notified by email or RSS feed when new content of interest to you is added to the database.
References: Thanks to the UIUC LIS Library LIS LibGuide