Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

Library and Information Science: Library Lit

Reasons to Use Library Lit

1- Library Lit includes full text articles from approximately 100 journals -- just a click away from the bibliographic records.

2 - Library Lit covers a range of publication types, including scholarly journals, professional magazines, books, chapters, and library school theses

3 - While some indexes limit their coverage to full-length scholarly articles, Library Lit indexes feature articles, short news articles, books, book reviews, and more.

4 - Although some foreign-language journals are included, Library Lit emphasizes English-language, North American sources.

Description of Library Lit

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text

  • indexes more than 400 periodicals
  • covers library science and information science
  • emphasizes English-language, North American periodicals but includes foreign publications too
  • begins indexing coverage with 1984
  • includes full text articles from around 155 periodicals, as part of the database, since 1997
  • indexes scholarly journals, professional magazines, books, chapters, and library school theses
  • covers feature articles, short news articles, books, book reviews, and more
  • includes abstracts for recent years
  • has a searchable thesaurus of subject terms

Special features:

  • Searches can be limited upfront to peer-reviewed articles only.
  • The history of searches during a session is displayed right on the results page.
  • If websites are cited in an article, links are provided in the entry.
  • You can search Library Lit simultaneously with any other EBSCOHost databases (including LISTA, ERIC and Education Full Text)
  • “InfoLink” buttons link to full text in other electronic resources provided by the UI Library
  • You can create “alerts” and be notified by email or RSS feed when new content of interest to you is added to the database.

References: Thanks to the UIUC LIS Library LIS LibGuide

Your Librarian

Duncan Stewart's picture
Duncan Stewart
Contact:
Duncan Stewart
Cataloging-Metadata Main Library 5020
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-5884
Website Skype Contact: Duncan R Stewart