Reference Books: Primate/Hominid Assignment
Here are some selected reference sources that will assist you in completing your Primate/Hominid Papers. Explore InfoHawk for additional titles.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and EvolutionCall Number: Biological Sciences Reference QP34.5 .M37 2005ISBN: 0521662508
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human EvolutionCall Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO GN281 .C345 1992ISBN: 0521323703Also available: Biological Sciences Oversize FOLIO GN281 .C345 1992
Encyclopedia of AnthropologyCall Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO GN11 .E525 2006ISBN: 0761930299
Encyclopedia of EvolutionCall Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO QH360.2 .E54 2002ISBN: 0195122003
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and PrehistoryCall Number: Main Reference Collection GN281 .E53 2000ISBN: 0815316968
Reference Books: Scientific Biography Assignment
There are a number of reference books that you can consult to find biographical information on a scientist. In addition to the volumes list below try Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index is an index that can be used to find biographical information on your scientist in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.
Once you have identified a book that has information on your scientist use InfoHawk to see if we have it in the Libraries.
The Biographical Dictionary of ScientistsCall Number: Hardin Library For Health Sci Permanent Reserve Q141 .B428 2000
The Cambridge Dictionary of ScientistsCall Number: Main Reference Collection Q141 .C128 2002
Concise Dictionary of Scientific BiographyCall Number: Hardin Library For Health Sci Oversize FOLIO Q141 .D52
New Dictionary of Scientific BiographyCall Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO Q141 .N45 2008
The Nobel Scientists: A Biographical EncyclopediaCall Number: Main Reference Collection Q141 .K78 2002
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Online)Call Number: Print Available: Main Reference Collection DA28 .O95 2004
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaCall Number: Sciences Library Permanent Reserve QL7 .G7813 2002ISBN: 9780787677503Some reviewers call "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The original set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Thomson Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, our new editions of "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
WorldCat
You aren't limited to what you can find at the University of Iowa Libraries. If you can't find what you need in InfoHawk, try Worldcat, a catalog with materials from thousands of libraries worldwide.Once you find what you need, you can request the book through our Interlibrary loan service.
Note: This is not for the procrastinator.You will need to allow at least a week for your request to be processed and the item shipped here from another location.